Barbecue Chicken Salad

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I’ve eaten this salad daily for the past…oh, two weeks or so. A big serving of protein over a bed of lettuce covered with sautéed red onions and a bit of sweet barbecue sauce, topped with my favorite cheese – mozzarella.

It’s a lighter fare, but still allows me to get some protein and veggies in, while being not too filling so that I can hit the gym not too much later.

DSC_0051

Barbecue Chicken Salad:
serves 1

  • 3 cups of chopped green leaf lettuce
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 c. (100g) of shredded, cooked, chicken breast, chicken thigh, or a combo of two
  • 1 T. barbecue sauce (I used Bone Suckin’ Sauce, original)
  • 1/4 c. shredded mozzarella
  • coconut or olive oil
  • fresh ground black pepper

I like to bake chicken breast and thighs ahead of time and once they’re cooled turn them into shredded chicken. I love dark meat chicken to bring a bunch of flavor to chicken breast.

Heat a bit of oil in a cast iron pan over medium-low to medium heat, and saute the red onion. Add the chicken to the pan and cook until warmed.

While this cooks, chop your lettuce, and spread on a dinner plate.

Place the cooked chicken and onion in a bowl and top with 1 T. of BBQ sauce. Pour on top of the bed of lettuce, top with shredded cheese, and fresh ground black pepper, if so desired.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Barbecue Chicken Salad

  1. bbq chicken salads are my favorite!

  2. Sarah says:

    I LOVE a big salad with a good protein punch and flavor. This looks perfect! 😀

  3. I’ve never had a BBQ chicken salad but this looks good enough to try it.

  4. This looks so good!!!! I tried BBQ sauce on a salad on a whim, and it was delightful 🙂 Mine wasn’t as pretty as yours though 😉

Leave a Reply

