Breaking the Fast: Protein Pancakes

DSC_0012

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Breaking the Fast: Protein Pancakes

  1. beautifully plated once again! What’s the stuff in the middle? Nut butter?

  2. I was just thinking about how there aren’t enough pancakes in my life. This looks wonderful! πŸ˜€

  3. Amen says:

    Wow, this breakfast looks amazing! I’ve been into making breakfast smoothies for myself on workweek nights so I can drink breakfast on the way to work haha. Usually peanut butter, a banana, some cottage cheese or Greek yogurt, etc. This looks like a good weekend breakfast for me!

    How are you? I haven’t commented in a while but still check your blog every day. I’m wondering how your lifts are looking! I wanted to tell you that I decided to attempt a 5×5 program to try to get my squat up over 200 lbs by the end of the year. I picked StrongLifts 5×5, and it’s enjoyable so far. (I sound like a commercial =P) I’m squatting 3 times a week and adding 5 lbs every workout. Only 2 weeks into it but it’s getting hard… I’m up to 140 squats, 165 deads, and 65 bench, all 5 sets of 5 reps. Deadlifts and bench add weight everytime, too, but they aren’t 3 times a week. It’s interesting!

    Before starting the 5×5, I hit 160×3 on squats, but hadn’t made any deadlift PRs since 185. That’s okay — it’ll come… Also before starting, got my bench up to 85×3! Pretty excited, and I thought of you!

    I hope you’re doing great and making the gains you want! Or are otherwise satisfied with your progress! πŸ˜€ Looking forward to your posts, as always!

    • Ashlei says:

      Thank you! Lifts are going really well.

      Yesterday pulled 170lbs x 5 for deadliest. πŸ™‚ I reset my squats and switched to the hack squat machine and am doing ATG. Just did 85lbs 3 x 5 yesterday, not too bad. Killing my glutes and adductors! Bench and overhead press up a little bit too. πŸ™‚

      I’m all for the 5×5 or 3×5 programs! It’s simple, focusing on the big lifts and getting those big strength gains. That’s really what it comes down to. Strong squats are strong! Dang! When I first started I was doing strong lifts and loved it, then switched to a 4-day program (push/pull). It focused on the compound lifts, but I didn’t like the rep ranges so Ive finally got it tweaked to main lifts 3×5 or 5×5, plus a little supplemental work (with DBs – like bench and incline bench), lunges, leg press), which I work on increasing, but the main focus are the big compounds.

      Sounds like you’ve got some good work in already on 5×5! Keep it up and training hard! πŸ™‚

      • Amen says:

        Cool! But careful that those DLs aren’t too DEADLY!! (You had a funny typo!!!) Hah, my husband just said “She did that on purpose, didn’t she? The hardest set of DLs is the deadliest??” Haha so now I don’t know, but it made me smile either way.

        Yeah, the one thing that’s crazy to me about the program is the lack of accessory work, but I guess that’s the point! I’m going to give it the suggested 12 weeks and then switch it up or not, depending on how I feel about it at that point, hah.

        I’m all for the ATG squats! It’s awesome that you’re doing hack squats ATG! (Lawl got all dorky and excited)

        You keep it up, too, and keep me posted! πŸ˜€

      • Ashlei says:

        Haha oops on the typo! “Deadlift” isn’t a recognized word on my computer and since it’s a mac it autocorrects it to deadliest. lol!!

        Haha I love the ATG squats…I can feel it so much more in my adductors and glutes now, so I know that’s probably where I need work. Keep up the solid lifts also! πŸ™‚

  4. Amen says:

    P.S. Your photograhy skills are tops! My husband is always talking about appropriate blurring of back/foreground and how it’s so cool. πŸ™‚ Perfect example!

    • Ashlei says:

      πŸ˜€ That’s my favorite to do; get the item in focus with the background blurry – playing with the depth of field. πŸ™‚

      (Just responded to your other comment, but realized I sent it only back to the blog as a comment and not to your email).

Leave a Reply

