Progress and Bruises

 

Last week was a good workout week: bumped up my squats to 125lb (5×5), did 7 reps of deadlifts at 135lbs, BB row at 70lbs, and hoping to improve my bench some more…it needs work. I’ve switched up my routine to throw in bench pressing twice per weeks. I need some upper body gains!

photo

Check out these bruises from my deadlifting sets. Had no idea they were happening! lol Shows I’m keeping the bar closeΒ to my body though. πŸ˜‰

See you later with some food and maybe some recipe stuff.

xoxo

 

This entry was posted in exercise, fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Progress and Bruises

  1. I need to get into more of a weight lifting routine! Do you do most of your workouts at home or at the gym? I think I’d be more likely to do it if I had the equipment at home, although I’d probably learn a lot more by having someone show me how to do things correctly. πŸ˜€

    • Ashlei says:

      I love strength training! I do most of my workouts at the gym because I like using the barbells and only have a few dumbbells at home (and lack motivation at home). I did a LOT of reading up on exercises to make sure I had proper form on the big lifts…start light and work up. It’d probably help your running to gain some muscle mass. Just a thought. πŸ˜‰ Let me know if you need anything relating to weight lifting and I’ll try to help out!

  2. Nice!! I always wind up with bruises and scrapes on my shins the day after conventional DLs (when doing SLDLs to target hamstrings, I keep the bar maybe about 10 inches away from my feet/legs to hit more hammie and less lower back)! Wearing knee-high socks or sweatpants can help πŸ™‚

    • Ashlei says:

      I like the socks idea! May have to try that..I usually wear crops when I workout but may have to change that on DL days. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Awesome numbers! I like to do circuits so I haven’t tried barbells out yet. I’m debating switching to barbells at least for squats because my forearms tend to give before my bigger muscles do.

Leave a Reply

