Intermittent Fasting

 

When I first heard of intermittent fasting on a daily basis, I thought it’d never be for me. Never. I loved breakfast, and eating in the morning way too much. But in terms of body composition and people’s testimonies on it who’d tried it, only good things came. So I decided to try it out. The first day was pretty easy. Got stuff done in the mornings instead of spending a lot of time in the kitchen, eating , and still being hungry afterwards.

2nd day I caved and was so hungry in the morning I couldn’t do it. But after that I realized how much I actually enjoyed NOT eating in the morning and be able to eat larger meals in my 8hr eating window.

I’m hoping this will be something I can stick with long term. It’s flexible. Allows me to eat more, not always be thinking about food, hunger and eating like I did when I eat 5-6 times per day/every couple of hours.

Meals include lots of protein and veggies, of course. 😉 And I’ve been eating tons  of eggs recently. I love them!

This is a breakfast I enjoyed a couple days before starting IF: Open-faced sandwich with Applegate Farms organic turkey bacon, an egg, romaine, and a tomato slice, along with some grilled chicken breast, and a small salad with another egg and some more tomato slices.

DSC_0001

 

And a lunch from pre-IF: Salad with grilled cherry tomatoes, Bob’s Red Mill GF Pizza crust topped with Annie’s Smoky Maple BBQ sauce, goat cheese, red onion, grilled chicken and herbs, with some more grilled chicken on the side.

DSC_0022

 

I definitely need to make some more of that pizza!

IF “lunch”/PWO meal: Protein pancakes topped with goat milk yogurt, blueberries, peanut butter, strawberry jelly, and some Super Charge Me cookies I altered from ED&BV.

DSC_0040

 

Sadly, this still left me hungry. Better to keep a smaller version of this as a snack instead of my main meal.

What have you been eating lately?

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Intermittent Fasting

  1. I LOOOOVE intermittent fasting!! I do it leangains style: fast until 12:30, drink amino acids, train, get home and eat 😀 I’ve made such great strength gains! And I love how much I get done during the fasting window.

  2. Katie says:

    I do IF too, without actually calling it that. It is so nice to not have to be thinking about food and breakfast ALL morning! I love it and have been doing it for months. It took a while to get used to eating so much more later on, but protein is the secret. I’m an egg aficionado now!

  3. I was a TOTAL breakfast lover, too! It was definitely a mind-set adjustment for me, when I started simply drinking vegetable juice in the mornings instead of having “breakfast.” I’m actually not too familiar with IF– though I feel like I’ve been hearing about it more and more– but I guess I actually do it already, since I typically fast in the mornings. It’s funny how our bodies adjust, huh? And I feel more productive, too!!

    Look forward to hearing how it works for you!

  4. Tell me more about this intermittent fasting – I’ve never heard about it.

    • Ashlei says:

      Hey girl! I love IF because I get to have an evening snack and eat bigger meals instead of eating 5-6 meals a day nibbling/meals like a bird. Check out http://www.leangains.com for more info. And I vote yes to you using barbells for squats. I used to use dumbbells too but my arms would give out first. I feel like I get a full lower body workout using BB’s instead of DB’s also. 🙂

Leave a Reply

