Mt. Rainer and Glacier National Parks

Still showering you guys with photos from my trip. There’s only a few more posts so enjoy the scenery. πŸ˜‰

After we left Mt. St. Helens we headed a little bit north to Mt. Rainier in Washington. Talk about cold and rainy. Thank goodness I’d brought some warm clothes – plenty of jackets, my North Face down vest, scarves, gloves, hats, the works.

P1060418

P1060420

P1060422

And that’s when all the camping fun started. And by fun, I mean freezing my butt off. πŸ˜‰

P1060412

Leaving Washington en route to Montana.

P1060431

For some reason I’d always thought of Montana as being brown and flat. Not sure where I got that from, but western Montana was anything but. It’d be great to have a summer home up there on one of the huge lakes. The weather was mild during the day, and kinda chilly, but tolerable in the evening.

More camping. More being cold.

But Glacier was beautiful. We definitely didn’t have enough time to explore hardly any of this park which was disappointing. And we didn’t have my dog’s vet papers so we didn’t travel up to Waterton Lakes…another time.

IMG_1140_2

IMG_1143_2

IMG_1145_2

IMG_1149_2

I got pretty good at figuring out how to eat healthy without eating tons of sodium and sustaining off canned food completely. Coolers are your best friend when camping. Veggies like cucumbers and tomatoes keep well. For fruits, apples and berries. Edamame from the frozen section. Restocking at Whole Foods usually involved hummus and a yogurt in addition to this since they don’t last too long.

Lots of deli meat was consumed. Talk about sodium bloat!

IMG_1133

Sandwich half devoured. πŸ™‚ What do you bring with you when you camp or hike?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mt. Rainer and Glacier National Parks

  1. Pictures are beautiful!

    We’re going camping this weekend. We’ll be in a tent but they definitely have a small building that has plumbing. My kind of camping! πŸ˜‰

  2. Gorgeous pics, Montana looks beautiful! I have camping envy, we haven’t have time yet this summer. 😦

  3. These are such gorgeous pictures!!! πŸ˜€

    When I go hiking, I usually pack super light. Tuna in a bag. Whole wheat tortillas. Oatmeal for breakfast, with cranberries and nuts and cinnamon. Pasta. And YES to anything salty! My body always craves it when I’m hiking. πŸ˜€

    I’m so enjoying these pictures. πŸ˜€

  4. i just picked up a big roasted chicken which i realize is a staple whenever i travel or camp..i think because its so convenient. hummus and crackers are definitely on the camping list for sure..and possibly any dried fruit i can find πŸ™‚

    Talk about a spectacular place to camp btw! WOW ❀

Leave a Reply

