Homemade Tomato Sauce

 

With summer being here, tomatoes are back in season, which means they’re prices are down to what I consider reasonable. So of course I bought a couple pounds. As much as I love raw tomatoes, I knew I’d never be able to eat 8 raw tomatoes before they started to go bad, so I made a small pot of tomato sauce. I had no problem eating this up in 2 days! πŸ˜‰

Homemade Tomato Sauce

  • 2 lbs tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • herbs: basil, rosemary, oregano, thyme
  • extra-virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 375. Place the tomatoes in a dutch oven (or on a baking tray lined with a silicone baking mat, parchment paper, or foil). Bake/roast for 45 minutes.

DSC_0014

During the last 10 minutes of cooking, heat about 1 T. of EVOO in a medium skilled and saute the onion until browned. Add to the tomato mixture and simmar of low heat until reduced to desired consistency. Stir in fresh herbs (I like a lot!).

DSC_0040

 

Serve with fresh basil and/or fresh ground black pepper and more dried herbs.

DSC_0061

New recipe coming up soon with this sauce. It was so good I’ve eaten the same meal x3 over the past 2 days. πŸ˜‰

 

 

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Tomato Sauce

  1. Katie says:

    Did you eat it with spiralized zucchini from your garden? That would be epic. EPIC. I love homemade marinara, and the easier the better. When I have a garden again…

    • Ashlei says:

      I don’t have any zucchini from my garden 😦 Only basil. Haha. I don’t really even have a garden, I’ve tried growing stuff in pots, but not much luck. That totally would’ve been epic though!

  2. Pingback: Grilled Chicken with Tomato Sauce and String Beans | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

