Lifting Gains

I’m super excited! After having 2.5 weeks off because of the gym closed, I’m finally back to lifting. I was definitely afraid I’d lose strength during this time, but I definitely didn’t, so I’m stoked! While off from the gym I did some P90X workouts (mostly Back & Biceps, and Ab Ripper X) and some Turbo Fire HIIT.

The P90X definitely helped with my upper body strength (I can do pushups now!).

Wednesday was my first day back, and only had time for compounds lifts (which are the most important anyway):

Squats: 2 x 5 warm up with bar (45lbs)
4×5 (105lbs)
1×5 110 lbs

Bench press: 60 lbs 5×5

Deadlift: 65 lbs 1×5
85 lbs 1×5
105 lbs 1×5
125 lbs 1×5

Today’s lifts:

Squat: 110 lbs 5×6 (increased!!)
Military Press 55lbs 4×5, 1×7
Bentover barbell row: 65lbs: 5×5

Assisted Pullups (neutral grip): 4x 13, 8, 6, 8

Deadlifts: 65lbs 1×5
85lbs 1×5; 105lbs 1×5; 125lbs 1×5

Compared to what I was lifting before, these are all increases! The deadlifts on Wednesday left my legs sore then doing them again at the end of today’s workout was tough!

Need more motivation to lift? Check out this great blog post. She talks about the “toning vs. bulking” myth, bodybuilders vs. Olympic lifters, and some great benefits to lifting.

Don’t forget to eat! You won’t gain much muscle unless you’re feeding your body lots of protein and calories.

How’d you get your working out on today?

This entry was posted in exercise, fitness, fun, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lifting Gains

  1. Alpha Dog says:

    Your numbers are amazing. Congrats on keeping your strength. Are you still doing yoga? Maybe a post dedicated to that?

    Anyway, keep it up!

  2. wow that’s great! unfourtantly, i wont’ be working out today. i’m having bad back pain, once again…and it’s best not to. i really wanta go skiing this weekend…so i need to lay off in order to be able to do that.

Leave a Reply

