Some Favorite Lifts

Thanks to everyone for the comments on my lifting progress! I’m ready to get back in the gym (closed for 17 days for annual maintenance)!

I’d like to share some of my favorite lifts when I’m workout out. I always start with my compound lifts because they involve multiple muscle groups: squats, deadlifts, bench press, military press, and barbell rows. Not all on the same day though because that’d be too tiring for your muscles.

I usually split it up like this:

Workout A: squat, bench press, deadlift

Workout B: squat, barbell row, military press

Squats are such a great exercise and shouldn’t be neglected in any weight lifting routine. I then break up the workouts into doing accessory exercises for chest, back, quads, hamstrings, calves, triceps, and sometimes biceps. I try to limit my isolation exercises because they’re more time consuming and less productive than the compound movements.

I’ve had trouble targeting my lower back in some exercises because of my lack of upper body strength (for now!), so I just found this great exercises that targets that area: hyperextensions.

The deadlift is also a great full body exercise, but it’s not an exercise you want to be performing high reps and sets on. Lift heavy and it will get it’s job done, but first make sure you’ve got good technique down. Check out this video for some tips.

For more weight lifting exercises and routines, bodybuilding.com and muscleandstrength.com are great resources.

As with any training program, start slow, stick with it (don’t change workout routines all the time), and become knowledeable so you don’t get injured.

Check out this article on Strong Lifts for a little motivation.

Disclaimer: I’m not an expert, so consult your doctor before starting a training program, and personal trainers for proper technique.

This entry was posted in exercise, fitness, fun, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Favorite Lifts

  1. Katie says:

    I love back extensions! Wait till you get to a gym with a horizontal extension machine…yikes!

Leave a Reply

