Chocolate Buckwheat Bake

This is quickly becoming my favorite breakfast with the exception that it takes about 30 minutes to bake. By the time I’ve mixed it all together, I want to eat it at that moment, instead of waiting for it to bake….which is usually why I throw it into the toaster over while I head to the gym to lift weights. Out of sight, out of mind. And it’s great to refuel with when I’m doing with my session.

Chocolate Buckwheat Bake
serves 1

  • 1/4 c. buckwheat groats, ground coarsely
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 flax egg (1 T. ground flax + 3 T hot water)
  • 1/4 c. chocolate almond milk
  • 1 T. cocoa powder
  • 2 heaping T. chocolate protein powder
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/2-1t. cinnamon
  • 1-2 T. chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease a small baking dish.

Combine the mashed banana, flax egg, and 1/2 the almond milk in a bowl. Stir in the dry ingredients, adding more almond milk, as necessary.

Pour into the greased baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes, then let cool.

DSC_0073

DSC_0082

Enjoy as is or top with peanut butter, jelly and almonds. 🙂

DSC_0094

Dig in!

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Buckwheat Bake

  1. so do you use a conventional oven or a toaster oven? I am getting into buckwheat bakes but never microwave anything and want to figure out what is easiest/fastest

  2. Wow! This looks awesome! I need to get some ramekins…

    • Ashlei says:

      I think this is a 2 cup baking dish from Anchor or Pyrex. I bet custard cups would work too, but ramekins might be too small unless you did a couple.

      Hope you get some soon to try it! It’s amazing 🙂

  3. Pingback: Acai Vanilla Protein Smoothie | The Vegster

  4. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles) says:

    I love your ramekin! It’s glass, and looks really posh 😀 and I love having these for breakfast, such a great start to the day 🙂

Leave a Reply

