Rotisserie Chicken Uses

I’ve really gotten into being pretty economical. I’ve tightened the budget quite a bit, and am looking for ways to spend less while still maintaining my healthy, ethical, and pretty environmentally-friendly lifestyle.

This brings me to one of my new favorite things: rotisserie chicken. It actually costs less to buy the one that’s already cooked¬†from Earthfare or Whole Foods, than to buy it per pound. How does that work?! Plus there’s the added bonus of not having to cook it yourself for 60-90 minutes or more.

After I buy it, I peel the skin off, and then set to work getting all the meat off the bones. I mix it all up – dark and white. The dark meat is more fatty and flavorful, and helps balance out the more lean breast meat.

DSC_0038

Then you’re left over with the chicken carcass. Add some water and a few bay leaves, bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Simmer for about an hour, give or take.

There’s really no exact science to it, which is great. You can then use the stock immediately in a soup or added to grains (like quinoa) when you cook them, or freeze it for later use.

DSC_0053

I portion out the meat into 2-servings worth and freeze them individually. This makes it easy to grab from the freezer and thaw (in the fridge) for use later in salads, wraps, or for some quick protein after lifting. :)

This entry was posted in environmentally friendly, food, gluten free, health, money saving tips, nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rotisserie Chicken Uses

  1. Andrew Reed says:

    love the thought. I use this in my diet. I mainly used it for quick lunch ideas. Once again great thoughts.

  2. How convenient! Way to get creative. :)

  3. This reminds of doing the same on thanksgiving! You really know how to get the most out of your food, freezing tons of extras, I hope to be as good at that soon. Also very interesting about the cooked vs uncooked chicken pricing.

  4. I want to try my hand at making my own broth. I’ve never done it and I use so much of it, it would totally be worth it!

  5. Pingback: Rotisserie | PORTABLE GRILLS AND MORE

Leave a Reply

