Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Seed Butter

In an effort to save money and reduce packaging, I’ve starting making my own sunflower seed butter. I haven’t yet tackled anything else because 1. I have tons of sunflower seeds, 2. I’m hooked on this recipe, and 3. I’m out of sunflower seed butter but still have jars of peanut and almond butter, and 4. I know I can succeed with this one (ha!). Soon I plan to make almond butter though…just not yet.

For now you’ll have to settle for my current favorite: 😉

Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Seed Butter

  • 1 c. sunflower seeds
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 2 T. hemp seeds
  • 2 T. chia seeds

Lightly toast the sunflower seeds until fragrant and slightly browning (about 5 minutes).

Process in a food processor for about 8 minutes, scraping down sides as needed, until it turns to sunflower seed butter. It will turn crumbly first, then a coarse mixture starting to come together, and will finally smooth out.

DSC_0023

Add the vanilla and cinnamon and process for another minute to combine.

Add in the hemp seeds and chia seeds, and process for another minute until thoroughly combined.

DSC_0028-1

Add more cinnamon or spices as needed. You can easily double or triple this recipe if you’ve got a bigger food processor, and don’t want to have to make it as often.

DSC_0036

Store in an airtight jar in the fridge or in the pantry, or portion out into small servings and store in the fridge.

This entry was posted in environmentally friendly, food, gluten free, health, money saving tips, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Seed Butter

  1. Caitlyn says:

    I wish you posted this before I bought a jar of sunflower seed butter! As soon as I deplete my stash (i.e. one jar), I am making this. There is a lonely bag of sunflower seeds just waiting to be used in this recipe!!

  2. Ma Ma Megan says:

    Wow that sounds really good! I have been on a major sunflower seed butter kick lately 😀

  3. Katie says:

    Loving the sunflower seed butter lately. I don’t have a food processor though, and the vitamix is a huge pain.

  4. I bought a small jar of this at a farmer’s market last summer, it was so freaking good!!!

  5. I’m obsessed with sunflower seed butter! Why it never occurred to me to make my own..I’ll never know. This is amazing!!

  6. hihorosie says:

    Ooh, great recipe! I’ll have to check this out.

  7. This sounds wonderful… I have always eaten fresh and local here in New Smyrna Bch, FL since my dad is a farmer, but I have changed the rest of my eating habits and getting away from store bought stuff… I can alot on my own and looking forward to tryin this reciepe.

  8. Katie says:

    this looks amazing , like u!!!!!!

    Yummy! I got a food processor for my bridal shower! I need to crack it open!

    LOVE YOU! BEST CARD! AMAZING GOODIES! You are so sweet!!!!!!!

    xoxo

  9. I’m totally making this tonight. Sold!

  10. mmm that looks good! I’ve not yet tried to make my own nut butter. I’ll have to invest in a good food processor soon.

Leave a Reply

