Simple

Usually, simple is best. That’s not to say that I don’t like elaborate meals, that require planning, lots of time involved, or enjoying them when eating out, but at home on a regular basis I like to keep it simple.

I often draw my inspiration from what I’ve seen others enjoying – today’s inspiration is from Raw on $10 a Day. I saw this great recipe for these cucumber boats, had the ingredients on hand, wasn’t sure what I was going to do with that other half of the cucumber sitting in my fridge, and then the answered appeared to me. Avocado paired with anything is a winning combo, plus it adds richness and creaminess to the crispy cucumber.

Cucumber Boats
serves 1

  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • lime or lemon juice
  • herbs, as desired

Slice the cucumber in half, long ways, and scoop out the seeds. Chop the seeds and combine with the avocado, a small amount of lime (or lemon) juice, and fill each half of the cucumber with the mixture.

Sprinkle with herbs.

DSC_0004

My favorite herb combo at the moment is this Bragg’s Sea Kelp Delight sprinkle. I actually ran out of it, and just refilled the jar with a mixture of herbs I had on hand based on the ingredients originally in the jar. Heh. 

Served alongside some sauteed red onion, broccoli, and chicken. Topped with more (you guessed it), herb mix.

Weekends over, foods for the week are prepped. And I’ve got a lovely new batch of kraut. Another simple meal I love to snack on in a pinch of time: kraut topped with tahini and hemp seeds.

DSC_0008

What’s your favorite simple meal? Check out these easy raw apple chips if you’re looking for an easy snack.

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Simple

  1. So true- simple food is sometimes all you need! Going to check out that apple recipe 🙂

  2. Simple is definitely best! My favorite simple meal is a tie between salads (or tacos). There are so many ways to jazz up a salad that it never gets boring!

  3. Katie says:

    Cucumber avocado boats….I love this idea. I just got a sample of that herb blend on Sat, I’d never heard of it before. I’m excited to try it now!

  4. I have never even heard of cucumber boats before, haha. This is an amazing idea, and I have everything on hand. Sweet. 🙂

  5. I love the idea of cucumber boats…how fun! 😀

  6. Kalli says:

    i am with you ashlei…..sometimes simple is better. your meal looks so good….i made a very easy meal tonight too 🙂

Leave a Reply

