Dehydrated Apple Chips

Time to bust out the dehydrator again. The other day I made kale chips, and yesterday some buckwheaties. For the buckwheaties, I opted for just a plain flavor: soaked buckwheat overnight, rinsed, sprinkled with pumpkin pie spice, and dehydrated until done.

Today I had 4 apples and a pear chilling (ha) in my refrigerator, waiting to be eaten, but yet I haven’t been in the mood for apples lately. Or applesauce for that matter. Who am I?  Since I hate wasting food, dehydrating was the next best option. Maybe soon I’ll feel like apples again…for now I’m just tired of them.

Apple Chips

  • apples
  • cinnamon

Equipment required: dehydrator

Core apples, slice in half, then slice into 1/4″ – 1/2″ slices. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Dehydrate at 105F until crisp.

DSC_0017

…relish the apple-smell of your apartment, and try not to eat them before they’re all done. 😉

DSC_0002

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, money saving tips, nutrition, raw foods, recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dehydrated Apple Chips

  1. Oh my gosh, homemade apple chips?! That’s amazing! Oh, how I wish I had a dehydrator now. I also wish I could make buckwheaties, darn.

  2. hihorosie says:

    Thanks for the reminder to make some. Yum!

  3. Pingback: Simple | The Vegster

  4. GingerandRice says:

    Aaaahhhh! Where did you get your dehydrator? I’ve always wanted to use one to make my own apple and banana chips!

Leave a Reply

