Kale Chips

I love kale. It’s definitely my favorite leafy green, even more so than spinach. It’s makes the best salads, the best chips, and is one of the best foods you can eat. Though not calorie dense it’s nutrient dense and therefore keep me full for quite awhile when I eat it, unlike some fruits and veggies that don’t seem to stick around at all.

I’m trying to use my dehydrator more, and have seen numerous variations of kale chips, so I played around with ingredients and made my own.

Kale Chips

  • 1 bunch of kale, torn into pieces
  • 1/2 c. sunflower seeds, soaked 1-2 hours
  • 2 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1 t. coconut or apple cider vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 t. kelp granules
  • 1/4 t. herbamare or a nice sprinkle of sea salt
  • nutritional yeast for sprinkling

Drain the sunflower seeds. Puree in a blender or food processor with water as needed, nutritional yeast, lemon juice, vinegar, garlic, and kelp, until smoothe, but still thick.

DSC_0014

Coat kale thoroughly (you may not need to use all of the mix, in which case it makes a great raw caesar dressing). Sprinkle on extra nutritional yeast as desired, and herbamare/pinch of sea salt.

Dehydrate at 115F for 1-2 hours, then lower the temperature to 105F and dehydrate until done.

(No after picture – sorry! Couldn’t keep them in the dehydrator long enough…) 😉

Other flavors you could try are coating the kale in 2 T. olive oil and sprinkling on spices. For a Mexican version you could use cumin, cilantro, and coriander. For an Indian spiced version try some garam masala and Indian curry powder (or a small amount of turmeric, coriander, cumin, and cardamom). Or just go simple with olive oil, nutritional yeast and sea salt.

Let me know what you think when you try it!

Other new things I’ve been enjoying: Vitamineral Earth. I love adding it to smoothies or making a warm tea out of it. The flavor is pretty mild, and contains lots of great ingredients “from the earth” (think roots and stuff), that I wouldn’t normally eat. Ha.

DSC_0016

Two new purchases: a roll-on perfume made with essential oils. It was on sale, and it smells good. 😉 Plus a new essential oil. I like to put these in my candle diffuser and it makes the apartment smell amazing!

DSC_0001

New recipe I want to try: Oat and Almond Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Have a great weekend! 

This entry was posted in exercise, fitness, food, gluten free, health, music, nutrition, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kale Chips

  1. Kalli says:

    i have never tried kale! who am i? maybe if you made them for me i would try 🙂 hope you are having a great weekend too!

  2. hihorosie says:

    I totally understand the “no after pics” of kale chips! ha ha! Your sounds great! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Regular old kale chips sound so boring next to this recipe. Thanks for sharing, I can’t wait to try it! 😀

  4. Pingback: Dehydrated Apple Chips | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

