Full Meal Salads

Every morning I love to start my day with a french press of coffee. I look forward to this in the mornings, not for the caffeine boost, but because I just love the way coffee tastes. Holding a mug of piping hot coffee and reading emails, blogs, and taking a little “me time.”

I was in Seattle two weekends ago and had to go to the first Starbucks over at the Pike Place Market. Had to. I used to work for Starbucks and it was probably my favorite job I’ve had. Plus I’m a coffee lover.

It’s replaced my Great Smokey Mountains mug as my new favorite. :)

DSC_0038

Salads are starting to make a comeback in my life – I love them. I’m trying to play a little “clean out the pantry and freezer” so I haven’t been going to the grocery store quite nearly as often.

I need to start making trips to get some spring mix, if nothing else.

I was so glad to see that zucchini is coming back into season (the price went down to $1.99/lb for organic in stead of $2.99+/lb), so I grabbed some so I could grill them up.

DSC_0028

Salad beast with spring mix, grilled portobello, grilled zucchini, grilled tempeh, fried egg, red onion, roasted carrots, dulse, balsamic vinaigrette.

DSC_0031

10-12 servings of fruits and vegetables per day? No problem!

ASBAD….A salad beast a day. Go!

Don’t forget dessert – black bean brownies! ;)

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Full Meal Salads

  1. ASBAD!! I love it! You can count me in on that. Salads with grilled vegetables rock!

  2. Katie says:

    I’ve been a member of the ASBAD club forever. Literally. I can’t think of the last day I missed a meeting. :)

  3. Yum, I love salads. I want more in my life. asap.

  4. Kelly says:

    French press coffee…you must like your coffee strong! Keith calls my coffee “dirty water”

  5. Hmmm salads! And coffee! That Starbucks mug you have is really pretty. :)

  6. mmmmm, I need to join the ASBAD club!!!!

Leave a Reply

