Perfect Protein Pancakes

Friday to me are just like any other day in terms of workouts. I had a really great lifting session this morning, increasing my bench press to 50lbs! So excited about this! 😀 For bench I do 5×5, so since I hit all reps and sets I’ll be moving up again next week, where I’ll probably plateau for a bit, but that’s ok. Not too long ago I was only benching 35 lbs, and not long before that I’d use the 10 or 12lbs dumbbells.

Keep at it and you will improve!

Before lifting I had some strawberries and an orange for a little bit of fuel – I didn’t want to be too full while trying to workout.

DSC_0032

When I get home from lifting I then eat a real breakfast when my muscles need the protein, fat, and carbs for recovery. I usually want some protein pancakes and I think I’ve finally found the recipe I love the most.

I’ve had flops trying to make them before; pancakes that just don’t want to hold together. Not anymore!

The secret – using chia gel as part of the liquid. 😉 You’ll have to make it ahead of time though. I like to keep a few in the fridge for when a pudding-craving hits.

Perfect Protein Pancakes
serves 1

  • 2 T. (or small scoops) of protein powder
  • 2 T. flour (I used 1 T. quinoa flour + 1 T. buckwheat flour)
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t.+ cinnamon
  • 1/2 serving of chia gel (1 T. chia seeds + 1/3-1/2c. water)
  • almond milk

Make your chia gel and let sit at least 20 minutes. Heat a non-stick pan or griddle over medium heat.

Combine all dry ingredients. Add 1/2 – 1 serving of the chia gel and stir to combine. Add almond or rice milk until desired consistency – you don’t want them too thick nor too runny.

Pour the batter into your heated skillet and let cook 1-2 minutes, until bubbles appear on the surface.

DSC_0017-1

If desired, sprinkle on some pumpkin seeds, chopped almonds, or pecans.

DSC_0020

Flip (oops! made one too big).

DSC_0025

Top as desired. Be sure to include some healthy fats. 🙂

DSC_0030

Maple butter, chocolate pb, superfood trailmix, maca, coconut butter, and shredded coconut.

I get a little toppings-crazy. That’s ok!

Plus a smoothie on the side for some fruits.

Coconut water, strawberries, maca, lucuma, other half of the chia gel.

Blend, blend blend!

DSC_0038

What’s your favorite post-workout meal?

This entry was posted in exercise, fitness, food, fun, gluten free, health, nutrition, photography, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Perfect Protein Pancakes

  1. I love pancakes in any form….and these make me hungry lol

  2. hihorosie says:

    Mmm! I love pancakes too and love that they’re healthy but they’re still PANCAKES! 😀 Cute reuseable snack bag too.

  3. Mmmm…I think I’ll be having pancakes for supper. 😉

  4. Lindsay says:

    Okay, you are a lifting “beast”. I once went on a walk with a friend who had two kids (2&4) we got about 2 miles away from there house and the stroller broke and I had to carry a 4 year old 2 miles and I thought I was going to “die”. I could not lift 50lbs even if I tried! 😀

  5. yea, i think im due for some protein pancakes soon- i really like how u topped it with superfoods too- like pumpkin seeds, goji berries, maca, coconut, and well SUPERFOOD TRAIL MIX mmm ❤

    • Ashlei says:

      I love superfoods! Maybe a little too much 😛

      Just saw your stuffed kabocha – it looks so great. I need to cook mine up soon – when I get home. 🙂

      xoxo

  6. Hi Ashlei, I think I could eat all of those pancakes, those sure look delicious! Thanks for sharing your healthy recipes here! 🙂

  7. i keep thinking about making protein pancakes, but i am convinced i’d get it all wrong. right now I only have chocolate protein powder…hmm that might be good though topped with banana!

  8. Kalli says:

    your pancakes look so darn good! good for you for improving in the bench press 🙂 keep it up girl!

  9. Pingback: Creamy Broccoli and Pea Soup | The Vegster

  10. Ahh these pancakes look awesome!!

  11. I’m going to try these ASAP! Protein pancakes never seem to work out for me, but I have to try this recipe.

  12. do you find that freshly grinding your flours works a lot better? I’m tempted to just use already ground flours but am not sure what drawbacks that may cause.

Leave a Reply

