On-the-Go Breakfast Ideas

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I don’t know if it’s because I love mornings or just love breakfast foods, or maybe that they taste better in the morning than any other time – but I love it. It’s also really important not to skip breakfast, even when you’re busy. Here are some easy ideas for grab-and-go breakfasts for us busy folk. ;)

1. Smoothies (preferably a Green Smoothie)
I’ve been prepping these at night, throwing in fruits and green powders, along with some other “superfood” powders to make sure these are nutritionally dense, plus some protein powder so that they will keep me full.

DSC_0029

2. Fresh fruit
This is one of the easiest things to grab and walk out the door with. Bananas and apples are probably the easiest, but oranges also travel really well because of their thick skin. When in season, fresh figs and strawberries are great to pop in your mouth and eat, and  don’t create a mess.

3. Breakfast or Granola Bars
Make up a batch on the weekend, then pre-portion out so that you can just grab one. I’ve got a recipe for some raw chocolate buckwheat bars that are delicious, but baked granola bars are great too. Make sure to load them up with some mashed bananas and/or applesauce, dried fruits, nuts, and some type of oil (my favorite is coconut) so that they keep you full.

4. Trail mix
Scoop out 1/4 – 1/2 c. (depending on if you’re bringing anything else with you). It travels and stores well because it’s dried, and is virtually mess free. I love a superfood trail mix – feel free to make your own or buy it already made (Navitas Naturals is my favorite).

DSC_0014

5. Yogurt
Greek yogurt is the most filling, but goat’s milk yogurt is my favorite. I prefer to buy the bigger containers of yogurt and then portion those out – it’s reduces cost and waste to do it this way. ;) Be careful with fruit-flavored yogurts because they often contain added sugars – it’s best to buy plain and add your own fruit in, if possible.

Best in combo with some fruit (fresh or dried), and some nuts/seeds/granola.

My favorite greek yogurts are Chobani, Fage, Stonyfield Farms Oikos, and Siggi’s (more expensive but it’s grass-fed). You can also make your own by straining a large container of plain yogurt through a coffee-filter that’s placed in a mesh strainer. If greek yogurt is a little too pricey for you this is an easy option for you to still enjoy it. ;)

DSC_0006

My favorite goat’s milk yogurt is the Redwood Hill Farm brand. I love the plain more than the vanilla, and they’ve also got a great goat’s milk kefir.

IMG_0513

If you’re looking for ideas on how to stay healthy on vacation, check out this post.

What are your favorite breakfasts to have when you’re in a rush in the mornings?

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, money saving tips, nutrition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On-the-Go Breakfast Ideas

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Great ideas! I’m boring – I just pack cereal, haha :D

  2. When I used to work in an office, I would bring smoothies, oatmeal, yogurt, granola bars, etc. Now I’m a stay at home mom and i’m boring ;)

  3. Great breakfast ideas, smoothies have been my favorite go to breakfast since I have to leave the house so early for work and they’re perfect when my stomach isn’t totally awake.

  4. I love to make hot soy milk and sprinkle it with nutmeg and put it in my mug to go!

  5. Great, great ideas! These will come in handy, since I find myself waking up a little later each morning. ;) To-go breakfasts will come in handy for some of those early mornings. :D

  6. Ma Ma Megan says:

    When I’m in a rush I have toast with almond butter and maybe a banana. I’m always up waay early though so I don’t have to worry about being late very often ;)

  7. How does goat’s milk yogurt taste? I hear the the milk is rather pungent unless it’s not pasteurized. Is it the flavor of goat cheese or different?

    • Ashlei says:

      It’s really creamy and rich! I love it. The taste is different from cow’s milk – a little more tangy (probably not the best word), and less tart. I always look for it on sale because it’s a bit pricey, but I can’t tolerate cow’s milk products so it’s worth it. Yes, it’s really similar to goat’s cheese just with yogurt texture. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

