5 Easy Ways to Relieve Stress

With so much to do and not enough time, we often are bogged down by having too much stress in our lives – this leads to an acidic body and is a contributing factor in many diseases. The more stressed we get, the less productive we are, and the more we often will skip out on important things (like sleep) to get more things accomplished. Less sleep = more stress, and the pattern will go around in a circle until some changes are made.

These are just some quick easy ways that I like to de-stress when I’m really cramped with school work, feeling anxious because I’ve got too much to do, and just need to “take a chill pill” and relax a little.

1. Set aside time for yourself.

Even when I’m super busy I have to give myself a little “me” time, whether it’s my morning workout, a short walk with my dog, doing a little yoga or stretching, curling up with a good book, or cooking & baking.

A little time away from the stress-inducing task can give yourself a mental break and let you recharge your batteries a little bit. When you get back to it you’ll feel refreshed.

2. Take a walk.

Nothing is better for clearing the head than taking a walk – even a short one. A good dose of sunshine can help improve your mood and help you get your daily dose of Vitamin D.

3. Try some deep breathing.

Set a timer for 5 minutes and sit with your legs-crossed, arms relaxed and concentrate on clearing your mind and filling your belly with air.

It’s good to let out a few loud sighs too.

4. Set your priorities.

Make a list of what you need to do and cross them off as you get done – and prioritize it. If you know what you want to get done it’s easier to get it accomplished. And when you cross them off your list as you finish them, you’ll feel more accomplished.

5. Don’t let the things that matter the least come before the things that matter the most.

Don’t sweat the small stuff – some things just aren’t worth your energy, or time – small arguments or fights. Just take a deep breath a let it go.

P1020060

How do you de-stress?

This entry was posted in health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 Easy Ways to Relieve Stress

  1. Caitlyn says:

    Great ideas! I like the deep breathing activity and prioritizing tasks. I often find myself spending too much time on not-so-important activities, while the more important (or enjoyable) ones are pushed to the sidelines.

    My favorite way to relieve stress is to read! I usually curl up with my book after a long day of class and let my mind escape!

  2. I have been super stressed out lately with wedding planning. This post came at perfect timing haha!

  3. hihorosie says:

    Great list! Similar to #1, sometimes I just like to zone out….brain off! :)

  4. Great list! You are so right. “Don’t sweat the small stuff.”

    Deep breathing, yoga and running are my stress releases. I also like sitting down at the end of the day with a good book and a cup of tea. :D

  5. other than number 4 i can happily say i can check off the rest on your list of ways to de-stress today! i’d love to say yoga is a great way for me to de-stress but unfortunately it doesnt work as well as i’d like sometimes- but rebounding on a mini trampoline or brisk walking really takes the cake :)

    xoxo <3

  6. Kalli says:

    great advice! i do take time for myself. take the pups for a walk. get in a good workout or take it easy on myself.

  7. Funny you should do a stress entry! Last week was pretty darn stressful for me. And you are correct when you say that being stressed makes you unproductive.

Leave a Reply

