Disney Princess Half-Marathon Race Recap

A mini vacation was exactly what I needed this past weekend. A little sunshine, a little break from school.

…a half marathon!

4am – alarm goes off! “Am I really doing this? I’m really doing this! …ok gotta get ready, Nikki will be here in 15”.

Green smoothie in hand – orange Lululemon headband to make it a little easier for my mom to spot me. Camelbak packed with 2 Clif gels, 2 fruit leathers, and almost 3L of water.

P1060225

All ready to go!

IMG_1066

Me and Nikki inside our corral waiting for the start. It’s about 5:30a – good thing I’m a morning person! 😉

IMG_1060

And we’re off!

IMG_1067

…Go!

IMG_1075

A little after 5 miles in, we stopped in the Magic Kingdom for some Castle shots – a much needed break for me.

189907_977787618661_5000082_50548284_6842042_n

189780_977787668561_5000082_50548286_3578632_n

Taking advantage of a short line, we stopped for a photo op with the Haunted Mansion ladies.

184801_977787803291_5000082_50548291_4443001_n

And the Genie from Aladdin! This is definitely my favorite shot from the race.

Genie is one of my favorite Disney Characters of all time.

189496_977787893111_5000082_50548294_2248213_n

Shortly after leaving MK we had a long stretch of [boring] road headed back to Epcot. This was around mile 7-8 and I said bye to Nikki and dropped back to a walk with short runs in between.

Because I didn’t care about my time or pacing I took advantage of almost all of the rest of the photo ops.

Mile 8:

IMG_0899

We passed the Princes on the way out because the line was too long, but this time I didn’t. Five good-looking Disney Princes….I couldn’t pass it up. 😛

IMG_0903

IMG_0904_2

IMG_0906

This is another one of my favorite shots…bring it!

IMG_0910

IMG_0911

IMG_0912

IMG_0913

I finally saw my mom around mile 12. It was such a much needed boost for me to get to the finish line. The last 3 miles were definitely the toughest!

P1060230

Picking up the pace…for only a couple steps. Then dropped back to a walk.

P1060231

Hips, legs, instep and toes killing me at this point….almost done! I want my medal!

P1060232

Mile 13! Only .1 to go!

P1060233

Done! I did it! I think my time was 3:12 (with a bathroom break in MK and many photo ops).

No training.

Boo-ya!

Have you run a 1/2 marathon before? Who’s your favorite Disney Princess?

I’m thinking I’ll do this again next year if I have a great running buddy in Nikki again. 😉

This entry was posted in exercise, fitness, fun, health, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Disney Princess Half-Marathon Race Recap

  1. Nikki says:

    I am in girlfriend!! Did you see the official race pictures are up today?

    • Ashlei says:

      I did! I just searched through almost 2000 of the lost and found ones for my medal shot! There are some great shots of me – definitely going to order some! 🙂

      Sweet! Next year we should do a team run.

  2. I wanted to run that race so badly! It looked like a blast!

  3. Caitlyn says:

    That looks like so much fun!! I want to run that! I’m glad you had a great time and a great running buddy.

  4. Gina says:

    Congrats! My goal is to eventually run a half marathon. Definitely not ready yet, though 🙂

  5. That is just awesome! This post made my night! Such awesome pics and looks like a lot of fun!

  6. Katie says:

    I’ve been waiting for this recap after seeing your FB posts! I remember when we first “met” and you could barely run a couple miles. You have come SO far and you should be incredibly proud. I am.

    Great job!!!! And I love the photos. LOVE.

  7. That looks awesome! I like your mentality of running the race. It looks like you had a really fun time.

  8. seriously love that you enjoyed every moment and stopped for all the great picture opportunities!! I may officially be convinced to do this next year

    • Ashlei says:

      You definitely should!! It’s really cool running through Disney with 16,000 other women, lots of characters to take photos with and just a fun experience. 🙂

  9. healthdivaeats says:

    Girl you ROCK!!! u make me have hope that I could run a half one day! : )

    I love all the pics with the characters!! Especially the ‘prince’s ‘ ha!

    Love you and LOVE the lulu headband!!!

    Congrats again!!!

    • Ashlei says:

      Luckily this one was at Disney and had fun characters and stops so it was bearable! 😛 I don’t think I could’ve done any others anymore.

  10. Ahhh!! This post is exactly what I needed as some serious motivation for tomorrow’s long run. I loved your recap and the pictures are awesome. So. Much. Fun! 😀

    And good for you for having fun with the half! I can’t wait for mine to come. I still have a ways to go before I’m ready, but this makes me more than excited. 😀

  11. CHILIFLAKE says:

    1/2 marathon was my longest race too! was hard! about 2.hrs 5min with some training! not sure I would do it again tho 😛

  12. quirkyrunner says:

    Great post! That looks like the funnest half marathon ever!! I’d totally be the same as you – taking lots of piccies! I’m a Little Mermaid kinda gal but Belle comes a close second 🙂

  13. Kayla says:

    I’ve been wanting to run that race! It looks so fun! I live just 2 hours from Disney, so maybe next yearr!

Leave a Reply

