Lift Heavy

I’ve been loving the strength training lately. It’s like a runner’s high but from lifting heavy.

Pumpkin oatmeal has made its way back into my life. I’d been consuming raw buckwheat granola pretty much every morning with yogurt and fruit, but it’s time to welcome oatmeal back.

Topped with sliced almonds and pecans, coconut butter, Crofter’s jam, and vanilla chai hemp protein powder.

DSC_0016

Post-workouts I usually love a good smoothie. When I’ve opened up a carton of coconut or almond milk that I can’t finish I freeze the rest in an ice tray – makes for the perfect addition to a smoothie.

Plus 1/2 a pack of some Jay Robb I found in my cabinets. It was pretty sweet tasting and I liked the vanilla, but not really the ingredients in general.

Usually I use a rice protein and occasionally switch it up with hemp. Rice is definitely my favorite though. I usually use this Source Naturals one or Nutribiotic. They taste just like the ever popular Sun Warrior but cost less.

DSC_0020

1/2 c. pomegranate arils, 1/2 serving of Jay Robb, water, ice, frozen banana.

Blend!

DSC_0021

What are your favorite workouts?

This entry was posted in exercise, food, gluten free, health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lift Heavy

  1. Katie says:

    Weights, baby!! Anything with cardio bores me to tears.

    I’ve been neglecting my glass straw. thanks for the reminder.

    • Ashlei says:

      I’d been neglecting it too. And smoothies for that matter – getting back on the wagon.

      Have you ever posted your weights routines? I want to be a badass too!

  2. Gina says:

    I love cardio and I’ve really been into the elliptical lately! I was in a serious rut on the treadmill.

  3. I love the feeling after I’ve lifted weights, but I can never get into a solid routine – I love weight classes though!

  4. I looove strength training! I love how it makes your body really look different. Especially if you’re actually lifting heavy enough weights. About 9 months ago I revamped my strength training routine to lift weights I could only do 8-10 reps of and I’ve seen such a difference!
    But all-in-all my favorites are high-intensity cardio classes (boot camp, kick boxing, cycle, etc), yoga, and strength training

    • Ashlei says:

      Those are some of my faves too – I switch it up from lifting really heavy (5 reps x 5 sets) to 4 sets to max (~8-10 reps usually). I definitely love the muscular/fit look instead of super skinny runner. I need to give boot camp and kickboxing a try sometime. Yoga is a favorite of mine to keep flexible and relaxed. :)

Leave a Reply

