Homemade Cream of Millet

I love starting my mornings off with coffee. Sometimes a splash of milk to add some creaminess, but usually straight up black.

DSC_0007

People may think living a gluten-free lifestyle is an inconvenience or boring and tasteless.

Au contrair ma cherie.

With an array of gluten-free grains to choose from – it is anything but: quinoa, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, to name a few of my favorites.

I’ve tried cream of rice and cream of buckwheat before (both from a box/bag), and wanted to give cream of millet a shot. I had millet on hand, so no need to go to the store and spend too much on something I can make myself.

Blender? Check. Millet? Check.

Blend however much you want until coarsely ground – you want them to be millet grits. It should only take a few seconds in the blender. I haven’t tried it with a food processor but if you have any success let me know!

DSC_0023

Pumpkin Cream of Millet

  • 3 T. millet grits (coarsely ground millet)
  • 1 c. water, milk or a combo of the two (may need to add more as it cooks)
  • 1/4 t. pure vanilla extract (or other)
  • 1/2 c. canned or fresh pumpkin or squash puree
  • handful of raisins or cranberries
  • cinnamon to taste
  • toppings: almond butter, shredded coconut, ground flax

Combine the water, millet, extract, dried fruit and cinnamon in a small pot and heat until cooked through and creamy. Stir in the pumpkin until heated through and mixed in.

Top or eat as it!

DSC_0024

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Cream of Millet

  1. Katie says:

    I’m going to try cream of quinoa today!

  2. You are a genius, my friend! I’ve often wondered how that would work with oatmeal, but how smart you are to try it with other grains!

  3. Ashley says:

    Yummm…I would love this. Millet might be my very FAVorite grain!

  4. Caitlyn says:

    Mmmm…Looks delicious! I will have to add that to my collection of hot breakfasts! It’s so fun making breakfast with different grains.

  5. Pingback: Strawberries and Cream Oatmeal | The Vegster

  6. Pingback: Grind Your Own Garbanzo Bean Flour | The Vegster

  7. Amy says:

    Yumm! I am trying to eat more gluten free and dairy free so knowing that I can just grind up my own millet meal is great!

Leave a Reply

