Raw Breakfast Cereal

I’ve pretty much given up traditional cereal – why? Because it’s not really all that healthy. Too much sugar is usually the culprit, but also ingredients that usually aren’t that fantastic. Breakfast cereals were meant to replace fruits and nuts for breakfast – so why not replace the cereal with fruits and nuts?

Raw Cereal Bowl with Protein Banana Mylk

  • 1/2 – 1 banana
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 1 c. kefir, yogurt, or nut/non-dairy milk
  • 1/3 c. raw buckwheat granola (I used Go Raw’s, but have also made my own. Gena has a great recipe).
  • 1 c. fresh or frozen blueberries (thawed if using frozen)
  • handful of walnuts (or other nut)
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon/maca/lucuma/mesquite

Blend the kefir, banana, and protein powder together.

    DSC_0047

    Combine the raw cereal, blueberries, and nuts in a bowl.

    DSC_0050

    Pour the mylk over the cereal.

    DSC_0053

    Sprinkle with cinnamon or other toppings.

    DSC_0055

    Enjoy!

    This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, raw foods, recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    9 Responses to Raw Breakfast Cereal

    1. I love making my own “cereal” – what kind of milk is that?

      • Ashlei says:

        It’s some kind of lactose-free kefir I got when I was back in FL. I blended it with a banana and some Vega Whole Food Smoothie protein powder (which is why it’s green).

        What kind of cereal do you make?

    2. Katie says:

      That looks delish. I used to eat something like that every morning for breakfast – I called it my bowl of soul.

    3. Caitlyn says:

      That looks like a fun breakfast! Very nutritious!

    4. What a fun new twist on the breakfast cereal. I love this! 😀

    5. I agree – this is a fun, very nutritious twist! I’m surprised at some of the “healthier” cereal’s sugar levels, and just plain dumbfounded by most kids cereals out there. I don’t know how I sat in my seat all those mornings I had heaping bowls of apple jacks 😛

    6. Kelly says:

      That sounds so good!!!

    7. Katie says:

      Ashlei this looks so good!!!!!

      U are so creative! Hope you feel better love, thinking of you : ) love ya! xoxo

    Leave a Reply

    