Sushi for One

I love Japanese food, but never really think to make it for myself at home. It’s really easy though it does require a handful of ingredients. I usually opt to make some sort of nori roll and seaweed salad at least. Sometimes I’ll make some miso soup too – usually the problem is I just forget what I have since I don’t use it all the time.

Nori Rolls:

  • 1 – 2 sheets nori
  • fillings:sliced vegetables (avocado, carrots, daikon radish), cream cheese, tofu, crab, hummus

The sky is the limit with the fillings. I opted for some shredded carrots, daikon, avocado and tofu.

DSC_0017

Wasabi:

Add just enough water so that a paste forms.

Miso Soup:

  • 1 t. miso (red or white)
  • 1 c. hot (not boiling) water
  • Optional: wakame, scallions, tofu, mushrooms

Dissolve the miso in the hot water and add in any of the optionals you desire or enjoy on it’s own.

Seaweed Salad:

  • Wakame and/or arame, rehydrated
  • 1/2 – 1 t. sesame oil
  • 1/2 – 1 t. rice wine vinegar
  • Gomasio or sesame seeds

Mix the rehydrated wakame or arame (I used both) with the sesame oil and rice wine vinegar, adjusting to taste. Sprinkle with gomasio or sesame seeds.

DSC_0013

Feast!

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sushi for One

  1. This looks so good! I went out for sushi last night – with edamame and 12 avocado rolls (yes, I ate it all) it was over $13! So worth it though.

  2. Katie says:

    I did a post on sandwich sushi ages ago! It is a great snack too for us GF girls (and guys). I haven’t ever had seaweed salad though…kind of embarrassing.

  3. I just found your blog and devoured a significant portion of it. Its awesome! Im adding you to my reader 🙂

  4. SushiTail says:

    Using hummus and tofu instead of sushi rice is a great idea!
    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Oscar Lara says:

    Wow they look great! My family and I tried making sushi and we haven’t been able to stop once we started!
    http://olara21.wordpress.com/2010/12/11/sushi/

    We need to try and make that miso soup soon it looks really good.

Leave a Reply

