Raw Dog (and People) Treat Dog Biscuits

Finding myself with an abundance of flaxseeds needing to be used, and a new cookbook with recipe I wanted to try, plus a dog who loves treats, has led me to an adaptation of a raw dog treat – inexpensive, but completely healthy. I don’t know about you, but I feed my dog the same quality of food that I eat; she is part of the family after all.

These drop “biscuits” can also be people treats, but add a little spice and something nice to them first or they might be a little bland.

Raw Dog Treats: Drop Biscuits
(adapted from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen)
makes ~ 12 medium sized biscuits

  • 1 c. ground flaxseed (or if grinding fresh: 1/2c. + 1/3c. whole flaxseed will yield ~1 c. ground)
  • 1/3 c. whole flaxseed
  • 1/4 c. sesame seeds
  • 2/3 c. sunflower seeds
  • 1-1/3 c. water

DSC_0001

Combine all the ingredients in a small mixing bowl and stir until well combined.

DSC_0011

Drop by large spoonfuls onto a Teflex lined dehydrator tray.

DSC_0020-1

Dehydrate at 104F for 4 hours (or more, if needed) until done.

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Raw Dog (and People) Treat Dog Biscuits

  1. I love that you made your own dog treats! I used to make my black lab peanut butter biscuits (a dog variety) and he absolutely loved them. It’s fun to bake for pets. 😀

  2. fitandfortysomething says:

    oh ashlei this is right up my alley! i am going to share this with my doggie lovin friends. hope you are well. missed you!

  3. Katie says:

    I have a friend who used to make his dogs stir-fries for dinner, while he himself ate frozen burritos.

  4. Ashley says:

    Oh my gosh! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m not sure if you have before or not, but I’m glad you found me. This recipe looks so great and really simple. I just noticed your cashew pudding recipe below as well. As you may have been reading, I’ve been detoxing the past week and eliminating soy/dairy/gluten. I’ll definitely be referencing your recipes. Looks like you have a lot of great ideas! Also, 4yrs ago I was diagnosed with Chrons. It was really random, but they found it when I had my appendix removed. However, I’ve had absolutely no sign of it in my body…even my doctor is quite stumped. Before I end up writing a book I’ll say bye! 🙂

    • Ashlei says:

      I’m really glad I found your blog too! I saw a recipe variation of your scramblers on Mama Pea’s site and had to take a glimpse at all your other variations. 🙂 I did notice the detox. I’ve been thinking about trying to get rid of dairy because I think it’s causing me some trouble, but I’ve got so much yogurt in my fridge I don’t want to waste. I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog. You’ve got some great recipes and ideas on there!

  5. Ashley says:

    whoa typo…crohn’s not chrons

  6. Meesh says:

    What a great idea! I don’t have a dog but if I did I would totally make her these treats!

  7. These looks seriously wholesome and delicious! Thanks for sharing. I made a bunch of dog treats in December (here’s the link if you’re interested: http://www.healthywithheather.com/2011/01/03/december-budget-update-and-peanut-butter-molasses-dog-treats/) but must try these as well!

  8. What a great recipe, I’m adding it to my facebook page right now!

Leave a Reply

