Recipe: Cauliflower Gratin

I don’t know about you, but I often find myself browsing through recipes online of dishes I’d like to make….one day. Sometimes a new technique intimidates me and I run back to the things I’m familiar with. I’ve got this huge stack of recipes I’ve printed that I want to try – and finally I’ve started to plow through it a little bit.

I think part of the problem is that I’m often missing an ingredient and then decide “nope, can’t make that” and just throw something easy together and call it a meal. What I really need to start doing is shopping with a list.

Well yesterday I’d put my mind to and I was going to make something new! It’s a recipe I’ve eye-balled before, and made something similar. But a gratin? Nope, never made one. But I did it and it was so easy! A roux? No longer afraid of making one for fear of burning it.

Cauliflower Gratin
serves 4-6 (adapted from Chocolate and Zucchini)

  • 1 head of cauliflower, chopped
  • freshly grated nutmeg
  • 60g (about 2/3 c.) of fresh grated mozzarella
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 T. flour
  • 1 c. milk (I used unsweetened rice milk)
  • freshly grated pepper
  • 1 T. breadcrumbs

Pre-heat oven to 350F. Sprinkle the cauliflower florets with a small amount of nutmeg and steam (15 minutes in a regular steamer or 5 minutes in a pressure cooker).

Have the butter, flour, and milk all measured: heat the butter in a pan over medium heat until it starts to sizzle – add in the flour and stir with a wooden spoon for about 1 minute, until it’s a smooth consistency. Stir in the milk and continue to heat and stir for about 2-3 minutes. Remove from the heat, sprinkle with freshly ground pepper, and set aside.

Place the cauliflower into a gratin dish or an 8×8 baking dish. Sprinkle with half the cheese. Pour the roux over the cauliflower then sprinkle with the rest of the cheese and the breadcrumbs. Bake for 20 minutes.

Optional: broil for ~5 minutes to brown the top a little more.

    DSC_0014 DSC_0007

    DSC_0011

    Served on top of some spring mix with a little bit of acorn squash. The sauce from the cauliflower helps to dress the greens nicely.

    Have you ever made or tried a gratin before?

    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    7 Responses to Recipe: Cauliflower Gratin

    1. I love playing with new recipes! I can totally relate to the “needing to shop with a shopping list,” though – I am prone to just buying the same veggies, etc and then wind up wanting to make a recipe with a bunch of things I don’t have!
      This gratin looks wonderful! Glad it’s not intimidating anymore πŸ˜‰ I’ve made a sweet potato gratin before that I adoreddd.

    2. this looks lovely! a great adaptation!

    3. Caitlyn says:

      I’m the same way with new recipes and new techniques. I frequently put recipes aside because I don’t have the ingredients or simply haven’t made it before. I need to be more brave!

    4. Katie says:

      Never made a gratin, but i have made a noochy casserole that was AMAZING.

    5. Pingback: Sunday Greatest Hits: Ashlei from TheVegster! « Making Food and Other Stuff

    Leave a Reply

    