Time Saving Tip: Onions

With school starting back tomorrow, I’m always looking for new ways to prepare things ahead so that making fresh, healthy meals can be done in a snap since time will be short amidst all the studying, classes and work.

I often spend a chunk of time on Sundays before the week starts prepping food for the week and making meals that I can throw together quickly or re-heat easily in my lunch at school.

I love onions and they add a punch of flavor to all different sorts of dishes: pasta, eggs, stir frys, to name a few.

Time Saving Tip: Chop, dice or slice onions ahead of time and store in an air-tight container.

I diced 3 onions to use in meals for the week. I hate having to peel a fresh onion because the peel gets everywhere and creates a mess, so to minimize this (and the crying that onions ensue), I’ve started chopping my onions ahead of time.

DSC_0002

Store in the fridge for up to a week. By the time your next “prep day” rolls around it’ll be time to chop more.

DSC_0011

Eggs were calling my name for lunch today.

Mushroom and Onion Fritatta
serves 1

  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 c. diced onion
  • 1/2 c. mushrooms
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t. thyme, dried
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 ounce goat cheese (optional)

Heat 1/2 tbsp of olive oil in a small pan over medium heat. Saute the onions until they start to brown.

While the onions are browning, whisk together the eggs, thyme and black pepper. Set aside. Turn on the broiler to 500F.

Add mushrooms to the skillet and cook until soft. Pour the egg mixture into the pan, tilting the pan so that it spreads out evenly. Cook until almost set (~4 minutes).

Place goat cheese on top and stick under the broiler for 3 minutes.

DSC_0004

Serve on top of a bed of lettuce, or eat plain.

DSC_0006

Drizzle with olive oil, or a living caesar dressing (my favorite is from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan).

DSC_0008

What time saving tips do you employ?

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, photography, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time Saving Tip: Onions

  1. Katie says:

    I have totally bought frozen chopped onions for this very purpose.

  2. Great tip!! I love adding onions to dishes, too – and also hate peeling them. It really frustrates me when I get one that the peel doesn’t want to come off of!!
    I always want to be prepared and chop fresh veggies ahead of time – but I never do :\ If I’ve got a busy week, though, I do a lot of food prep on Sundays. Making veggie burgers, grain salads, marinate tempeh and tofu, etc. Usually something that freezes well in addition to one fresh meal – veggie burgers and chilis are great to freeze!
    You go back to school so early! I think I have most of January off. You can rub that in my face when I’m still in school come May šŸ˜›

  3. What an awesome idea! I never thought of dicing the onions ahead of time. I bet doing so with garlic would make things easier too. šŸ˜€

    I like to make big batches of brown rice and stick them in my fridge (and now freezer, thanks to a reader tip! šŸ˜€ ). It creates an easy lunch or dinner for when life gets busy. šŸ˜€

    (p.s. Your Fritatta looks delicious!)

  4. Steph says:

    we always keep a good stock on red onions on hand – good for salad, soup, just about anything…

  5. Caitlyn says:

    What a great idea to have vegi’s pre-chopped for meals! I will be doing that this semester so that my meals come together faster when I make them the night before.

    Your fritatta looks wonderful! Worthy of Food & Wine Magazine!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Greatest Hits: Ashlei from TheVegster! « Making Food and Other Stuff

Leave a Reply

