No regrets

I hope you guys are enjoying the guest posts so far! If you missed them, check out Caitlyn’s and Sarah’s – both are great! I’ve got a couple more lined up as well!

I’m having a great time back home in Tampa. I always live life to the fullest when I come home. This is where my true friends are and I wish I could spend more time with all of them throughout the year. I’m always counting down until my next school break so I can come home and visit.

I don’t get to do much during the school year, because, well, let’s face it – Johnson City is a pretty small city without much to do. That interests me anyway. Especially not during the winter months. During the spring and summer I love going for hikes and spending time outdoors, but when it’s overcast, gloomy, rainy, windy and snowy I tend to stay indoors.

Being in Tampa, I’ve already gone to two concerts, two movies, seen a bunch of my friends, reconnected with old ones, and have more to meet up with, as well as a trip to Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure in Orlando.

Tonight I’m also going to see the Tampa Bay Lightning take on the Atlanta Thrashers. I love ice hockey!

One of my best friends, Chris, won Trans-Siberian Orchestra tickets, and asked me if I wanted to go – heck yes! Talk about an amazing show. No lie. I wasn’t sure what to expect because, even though it’s TSO, they’re still an “orchestra.” However, it was way more like a rock concert! Lots of head banging and jumping around. Tons of energy and it made it such a great show!

IMG_0879

The strings section was composed of locals from orchestras in the Tampa Bay area, which was really cool! Then the main act up front.

P1020143

The other concert I attended was a local radio station’s concert – they brought in seven amazing acts, so I knew this would be something I didn’t want to miss.

The 93.3flz Jingle Ball concert was great! I went with my mom and my brother, and though we were way up in the nose bleed section it was still really enjoyable. All the bands had tons of energy and I got to see a bunch of artists play that I enjoy listening to: The Ready Set, Train, B.o.B., Bruno Mars, Maroon 5, Enrique Iglesias, and Mike Posner. There were also a couple celebs hanging out back stage so they sang along to their hit song that the DJ played over the loud speakers, between sets as the crew set up for the next artist. I can’t remember all who was there but I remember Far Eat Movement singing Like a G6 and Shontelle singing her hit.

P1020159

There’s also been lots of eating out: Indian food, Chipotle, Mellow Mushroom – to name a few. Some of my favorites!

If you’re on winter break, how are you enjoying it?

This entry was posted in fun, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No regrets

  1. Chris Taylor says:

    love ya ashlei glad your having a good time down here even though its really cold 🙂

  2. Winter break starts in 2.5 days! Wahoo!

  3. Definitely enjoying winter break! It’s nice to wake up and know there’s nothing I have to do. I could used to this!

  4. Katie says:

    I just saw that they are opening a chipotle in town! It is sad how excited this makes me.

  5. Lauren says:

    I am on break, wa-hoo!! And I have tickets to TSO next week. I’m extra excited after reading this post 🙂 Love the guest posts, by the way.

  6. ZeeBee says:

    Oooh I REALLY REALLY want to see TSO but every year when they come to my town, I have plans already!! This year they are coming on the 23rd (perfect day for a Christmas show!) but we’ll be out of town.. here’s to hoping next year!! 😀

    Enjoy the rest of break!!

  7. Steph says:

    BF and I agree it’s either Chicago or Tampa that we’ll be the next city we live in 🙂

  8. Pingback: It’s good to be home | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

