Guest Post: Caitlyn: A spoonful of life

Hey guys! While I’m down in Florida for winter break I’ve got some guest posts lined up for you between any intermittent posting I do.

First up is Caitlyn from A Spoonful Of Life:

There are few things in the world I love more than almond butter (and I looooove almond butter!).  One of those things is a smile.  I simply love to smile!  I love to see other people smile!  Smiles, my friend, are one of the most powerful tools we have in our possession.    Something so simple…so beautiful…yet so very powerful.

DSC02334-1

DSC02343

My fascination with smiling began 2 summers ago when I began working in a company where everyone walked around staring at the floor.  No “Hello” or “Good day” or even a nod of recognition.  No smiles.  So, more as entertainment to myself, I started smiling at everyone.  Every.  Single.  Person.   The check out boy at the grocery store.  The person I passed in the mall.  A fellow classmate.  Heck, I even started smiling to myself just to lift my mood.  And it worked!  Smiles have the power to transform your outlook on life, to make you recognize the blessings in your life, to make someone else feel appreciated.  Smiles are our most powerful tool.

So… what makes you smile?

A simple bowl of chocolate oatmeal?

DSC02082

A spoonful of almond butter?

DSC01750

The quirky grin your brother makes?

DSC02391

(He calls this look “The Smoulder.”  I left it at that!)

The outrageous amount of whip cream your sister puts on her pumpkin pie?

DSC02434-1

(Yes, there is pie under the whip cream!)

Something as simple as rain drops on a flower?

DSC01581

There are many things that can and should make you smile.  The important thing is that you do SMILE.  Everyday.  No matter what.   My challenge for you is to smile more often.  Smile at someone you don’t know.  Smile when you don’t want to.    You’ll feel better about yourself, and about life in general.  It’s just one simple way to get an extra spoonful of life!

This entry was posted in fun, photography, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest Post: Caitlyn: A spoonful of life

  1. I love this!!! What a great post. It definitely made me *smile*. 😀

  2. Katie says:

    I am smiling! 🙂

    Great post!

  3. Pingback: Slow Down and Simplify | A Spoonful of Life

  4. Pingback: No regrets | The Vegster

  5. Pingback: It’s good to be home | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

