Baking, Baking: Almond Joy Cookie Bars

Today felt like Sunday to me – really relaxing with lots of time spent in my kitchen, baking things I’ve been wanting to try for awhile.

Lunch was one of my favorite recipes: almost homemade enchiladas. I love this recipe because it really doesn’t take much time to make, and isn’t really involved, but still has great flavor.


I haven’t baked anything in a long time because I’m still going through a freezer of baked goods, but I decided today I wanted to break out of that rut: I made not just one, but two new things to try, and they definitely didn’t disappoint!

Both recipes are Mama Pea’s, with a few slight tweaks.


First up: Almond Joy Cookie Bars

  • 1 c. gluten-free flour
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 3/4 t. salt
  • 1/2 c. shredded coconut
  • 1/2 c. hemp seeds
  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. chopped almonds
  • 1/2 c. dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 c. organic sugar
  • 1/4 c. almond butter
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 t. almond extract
  • 1/4 t. vanilla extract
  • 2 T. maple syrup or honey
  • 1/4 – 1/3 c. almond milk


Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, coconut, hemp seeds, oats, almonds and chocolate chips.


In a small bowl, mix remaining ingredients.


Add wet mixture to dry and stir until combined.  If mixture is too dry, add a splash more almond milk.

Spread dough into bottom of pan and bake for 30-35 minutes, until set and golden brown around edges.

DSC_0076Second recipe: Pumpkin Spice Bars

  • 1 1/2 c. canned pumpkin/sweet potato/butternut squash
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil
  • 1/3 c. non-dairy or organic milk
  • 1 banana, ripened
  • 1/3 c. organic sugar
  • 1/2 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. gluten-free flour
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. ginger
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • 1/4 t. cloves
  • 1/4 c. raisins
  • 1/2 c. chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9×11 baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.

Mix pumpkin, oil, milk, sugar, banana and vanilla with an electric or stand mixer.


In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves.


Add dry ingredients to wet, and mix until just combined.


Stir raisins into the batter.


Spread into baking tray.

DSC_0062Sprinkle with chopped nuts (I used pecans and sliced almonds).


Bake at 350F for 45 minutes or until cooked through, and browned.




Clean up.


Dirty dishes x3.

This entry was posted in gluten free, health, nutrition, photography, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baking, Baking: Almond Joy Cookie Bars

  1. Katie says:

    Those beaters aren’t licked clean!! What kind of baker are you?!? :)

  2. Yummm for baking. It’s definitely one of my favorite pastimes. :)

  3. I’m snowed in today, which I love because it makes me slow down and bake!! Yipee!!!

  4. Everything sounds so delicious, and the pumpkin spice bars are calling my name. I’m saving the recipe for a rainy day. :D

  5. Caitlyn says:

    I love baking, but I wish there was some way to “wish” away the dirty dishes.

Leave a Reply

