Get outside

Being a Florida girl my body is used to sun and lots of it. Living in northeast Tennessee, it’s often hazy and gloomy in the winter and the sun is nowhere to be seen. Yesterday, however, was the perfect weather – cool temperatures and clear skies – perfect for taking Edy to play a little bit and play around with the setting on my point-and-shoot camera I have now. I’m looking to upgrade to a digital SLR and have my eye on a couple with Black Friday coming up. I think I’d even pry myself out of bed at ungodly hours to wait in line in the cold…if the price was right. 😉

Breakfast has been the usual pumpkin oatbran. I love the creaminess of the oatbran and the pumpkin together. With pb&j for toppings and a few dark chocolate and white chocolate chips.

I’m not usually a big fan of white chocolate, but it’s richness, and there’s something else about it I can’t put my finger on, that just pairs nicely with a hot bowl of pumpkin oats.

P1020039

Pumpkin Oatbran:
serves 1

  • 1/3 cup oatbran
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or cinnamon)
  • 1 tbsp raisins or cranberries
  • 1/2 – 1 cup pumpkin (or butternut squash puree)

Mix everything except the pumpkin into a small pot and let cook over medium heat until done. Towards the end of cooking, stir in the pumpkin just to let it heat through.

Top as desired! Enjoy.

And get outside.

P1020043

My school is on the VA (as in Veterans Affairs) Hospital/Campus, and it’s absolutely gorgeous. Lots of trees. Lots of open green fields.

So I went to let Edy run around for a bit.

P1020050_2

Many of the trees have lost their leaves already.

P1020059

Some still have theirs.

P1020060

And some have some fungi.

P1020065

What did you do to get outdoors this weekend?

This entry was posted in exercise, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Get outside

  1. Edy is beautiful. And that first picture of him? WONDERFUL shot!! I love getting outdoors, too – though it’s been bitter cold this weekend. Each time I go out to work with a horse I wonder if I’m crazy 😛
    Have a good Sunday!

  2. I think the only time I went outside this weekend was to go from my car to another location. 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    Its been raining for the last 24 hours. I’m not going outside, and you can’t make me.

  4. Ohhh yay to the DSLR!! I know you’ve asked what brand mine is, but with the Blogger commenting system I just write back in the comments section and no one gets notified…blah. I have the Canon Rebel T1i and I LOVE it. I was between that and the XSi, but the T1i was on sale and only $50 more than the XSi when it’s usually like $150. I just took the plunge. Hope you find one you love!!

    • Ashlei says:

      I never remember to check back in the comments section! Thanks for letting me know! I’m keeping my eye on that one and an equivalent Nikon. Crossing my fingers for a Black Friday sale!!!

  5. Alisa says:

    I love your photos of Edy.I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I look forward to reading more 🙂

  6. Steph says:

    For some reason I think your blog may be snowing?

    Hope you had good luck on Friday tracking down a new camera! If not – check out costco.com.

  7. Melissa says:

    Hi Ashlei! Hope you’re doing wonderfully! I’ve been out of the blog world for a little while now getting adjusted to a new school etc. but looking to do some more blogging soon! Your pumpkin oats look scrumptious!!

    • Ashlei says:

      Hey girl! Hope to see you back blogging soon, and that you’re enjoying your new school. 🙂 I’ve been eating pumpkin oats everyday. I just can’t get enough!

Leave a Reply

