Almost homemade

As much as I love making meals completely from scratch, sometimes it’s nice to use a mix.

I was really in the mood for some chili and cornbread, and have been wanting to try this chili mix I had in my pantry, and I love Bob’s Red Mill’s GF cornbread mix.

I gave it my own flair by adding in adobo seasoned tomatoes instead of a jar of chilis, and some extra cilantro. Plus a whole onion, which wasn’t called for and tempeh instead of beef.

For the cornbread I used coconut oil instead of butter.

P1010991

Saute the onion and tempeh.

P1020007

Add mix, tomatoes, and water.

P1020014

Let simmer (covered).

P1020013

I loved that this mix didn’t have any added sodium to it.

Serve with cornbread on top and a pat of butter.

P1020016

Delicious!

Do you always cook from scratch? Always use mixes? Somewhere in between?

Check back later today or tomorrow for an Endangered Species chocolate giveaway! :)

This entry was posted in health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost homemade

  1. Good to know that the mix was awesome! I usually prefer to do homemade, too, but every now and then ready-to-go mixes are SO convenient. :)

  2. Katie says:

    Yum! I just had chili and cornbread for lunch! But, your chili looks so much better than mine. Mine was just canned chicken chili. Kinda meh, and it’s making my tummy hurt (probably due to the sour cream and cheese that was already in it…weird!). Cornbread was courtesy of my college’s dining hall. Over break I hope to make some cornbread!

  3. I cook from scratch 95% of the time!

  4. Caitlyn says:

    I like to cook from scratch because it give me more control over my ingredients. I also like the feeling of accomplishment after baking a loaf of bread successful (key word here!) from scratch. It give me an “i can do it!” feeling!!

  5. Katie says:

    I am a mix, but more often from scratch. I’m not scared of the short cuts though. Time is money, you know.

  6. Pingback: Endangered Species Chocolate Giveaway | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

