brisk!

When I set out for my run this morning it was not only dark, but a pretty brisk 34 degrees.

2.27 mi @ 9:36/mi

For 34 degrees out this run was pretty great. I cut it a little short because I didn’t want to get too far from home and be really cold. My lips were starting to really feel the cold, but thank goodness for gloves and ear warmers! My pace probably would’ve been a bit faster but the last half mile or so I’d picked up a somewhat large/awkward piece of recycling that’s been driving me nuts every time I’d run by.
Anyone else pick up recycling when they’re out for their runs/walks?
I don’t do trash…just recyclables.Β The Ready Set’s new album helped pump me up, even up this steady hill. πŸ™‚

Because it was dark out when I started, and for most of the run, I added two pieces of gear to the usual: flashlight and a pocketknife. Silly? Maybe. Did it make me feel better? Yes.

P1010936

Last night I’d attempted to get my new rice cooker from CSNStores to work, but it just wouldn’t heat up. I read and re-read the directions wondering why it was so complicated. I eventually just gave up and cooked the rice in my trusty Le Creuset dutch oven.

P1010934

Not sure what to do with all the rice I made. Ideas?

Some will go to Edy since brown rice is so good for dogs, and she loves food variety too; I’m sure dry dog food gets pretty dull.

P1010935

If you run, how do you deal with the cold weather? Bundle up? Head indoors?

Any fun plans this weekend?

This entry was posted in exercise, health, nutrition, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to brisk!

  1. Katie says:

    I don’t deal with the cold. Running happens only when it is warm out in my world. πŸ™‚

  2. Use rice in place of oatmeal! Delicious! πŸ™‚

  3. Kelsey says:

    gloves gloves gloves, my fingers have ZERO circulation lol… so running with gloves is key for me. and now that my hair is short ive noticed i need a head band/head warmer to keep the back of my neck warm and so that the base of my skull doesnt freeze which gives me horrible headaches πŸ˜›

    when in doubt, bundle and layer ❀

  4. Caitlyn says:

    I pile on the layers! Spandez pants, t-shirt, nike long-sleeve shirt, gloves, and earmuffs. If only there were something for noses! LOL! I end up looking like rudolph when I get home!!

  5. I bundle up! With layers and layers. A good hat and some mittens are crucial, in my opinion. πŸ˜€

    I actually like the idea of bringing a knife on early morning or late night runs. Better safe than sorry, is what I always say. Even if it’s just for peace of mind. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

