Crunch Time

Never underestimate a good breakfast. Never. Or a good nights’ sleep.

photo-1

Even when pressed for time before an exam, reviewing any last minute material you think is important, breakfast helps you be able to concentrate better in the classroom, and helps prevent your brain from focusing on how hungry you are so you can focus. A good nights’ sleep helps ensure you can think straight in the morning.

I never stay up all night cramming. I’ve never pulled an all-nighter. Even if I haven’t finished going through material, I still go to bed at a reasonable hour so I’m not completely wiped the following morning.

I polished off the rest of my butternut squash puree this morning with some oatbran, figs, blueberry jam, and peanut butter. Perfect way to start the day.

I’m still a little thrown off because of Daylight Saving Time, but my body is slowly adjusting. It’s easier in the mornings because the sun comes up much earlier now, which I love. However it makes me want to curl up at 7pm because the sun goes down so early.

Is anyone else thrown off too?

How do you prepare for exams? All-nighters? Start prepping days/weeks in advance? Good breakfast?

Just got home from a Zumba class! This is my new favorite way to get in an aerobic workout. What could be better than dancing?

Time to inhale a veggie snack plate!

P1010925

Check out these cool giveaways for some of my favorite products:

Artisana, Two Moms In The Raw (I’ve reviewed it here), and PureBars.

And a cool link from PureBars about what Gluten-Free is. I appreciated this being gluten-free. 🙂

If you have food allergies/intolerances, how do you deal with it when going out to eat or when invited over for dinner?

This entry was posted in exercise, health, nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crunch Time

  1. I am still thrown off by the time-change, too! I love that it’s lighter earlier, though. It was getting really difficult to wake up when it was still pitch black at 7:30! I definitely swear by a good breakfast and plenty of sleep, too 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    mmm, yummy snackplate! 🙂
    i am with you…i need a good night’s rest too! and, i love how the sun rises earlier with the time change. and, since it’s getting colder (well, not really yet – it’s still almost 70 degrees here in Indiana!), i like how it gets dark earlier. snuggling in bed is fine by me! especially if i have warm socks and a comfy blanket!

  3. Great snack plate! I’m pretty lucky to not have any food allergies for now, but maintaining a vegan diet is challenging enough when eating out. 😛

  4. Katie says:

    We don’t do that whole time change thing here, so I can’t use that as an excuse…

    I too have never pulled an all-nighter. I’m also not one of those people that reads their notes up until the moment of the exam. I figure if I don’t know it the night before, I don’t know it.

Leave a Reply

