It’s Never Too Early…

Sunday may very well be my favorite day of the week. Let me tell show you why.

For me, Sunday is a day of rest. A day to clean (starting fresh), cook, read, and do homework.

I usually have to vacuum and/or sweep the floors at least twice a week to keep up with all the dog hair.

P1010912

I love this girl to death, but she sheds like crazy!

P1010911

A clean apartment is a happy apartment, is it not? The new Lady Antebellum Christmas CD always helps to have tunes to clean to. [It’s never to early to listen to Christmas music…after Halloween….right?]

I usually spend at least an hour or two doing food prep for the upcoming week’s lunches. I hadn’t made hummus in awhile, so garbanzos were calling me name.

Throw everything into the mini food processor, and pulse, pulse, pulse to desired consistency. I usually like my super creamy and smooth, but I was feeling the chunky hummus today. So chunky it was!

P1010916

Hummus is so inexpensive to make at home, and it definitely tastes better and has a better consistency, so I pretty much never buy it anymore. I think only if I were on vacation, I would.

P1010917

Also because of my lip surgery, it’s difficult to eat food that isn’t soft and creamy (bananas, applesauce, yogurt, oatmeal, etc.). I thought about opening a can of pumpkin puree or butternut squash puree, when I thought I’d go ahead and try to make my own.

P1010915

Why have I not done this before?! It was seriously one of the easiest things to do. Roast squash…

…add to theΒ Vita-Mix (why haven’t I used you in so long?! I’ve missed this baby)….

P1010918

And like when making hummus, whir whir whir whir whir, until it’s super creamy and smooth. I let it go for a couple minutes at which point there was steam coming up.

P1010919

And possibly one of the best things about the VM is that it acts as its own dishwasher. Super easy clean up!

P1010921

Butternut Squash Puree

  • butternut squash (the more the merrier)

Pre-heat oven to 350F. Spray a baking tray with olive oil, or coat it with a thin layer of oil to prevent squash from sticking.

Chop ends off the squash and discard. Cut the neck off. Slice both of your ends in half. Scoop out seeds and discard (or save for planting).

Place squash cut sides down on the baking tray.

Roast for 30 minutes. Flip them over, and roast for another 10-15 minutes (or until done).

Let them cool a little bit before puree-ing them (food processor, or blender). I left the skins on for extra fiber because they are no match for the Vita-Mix.

Enjoy!

Use in oatmeal, soup, eaten plain, or sneak it into cookies. πŸ˜›

Vita-Mix users: what do you usually use yours for?

Lunch consisted of some of my newly made items: massage kale salad topped with dulse flakes and hemp seeds, side of butternut squash puree, hummus, plain, unbaked tofu, and one really big Two Moms In The Raw Garden Herb cracker (reviewed here).

P1010923

Time for dessert, then this is what the rest of my day looks like:

P1010913

…studying, studying, and more studying.

P1010914

And a little sewing to keep my sanity!

P1010910

Missed something this week? Get caught up!

What appliances do you love but have been neglecting recently? Have you rediscovered a food you haven’t had in a long time? What was it?

Do you prefer to make your own stuff, or buy pre-packaged?

xoxo

This entry was posted in health, nutrition, product review, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to It’s Never Too Early…

  1. Katie says:

    You can also just toss the whole butternut straight into the oven and cook it at 350 for 30-40 min, until soft. Then you don’t have to nearly stab yourself with a sharp knife and rock hard winter squash.

    • Ashlei says:

      It’s as if you were watching me wrestle with it! Almost stabbed myself. Almost.

      I’ve polished off about half of the puree already. Will probably go back to the store for more. Maybe later today πŸ™‚

  2. I love the kind of Sunday you had! Perfection!

  3. teenagehealthfreak says:

    man what a nice sunday, sounds like relaxing fun. i like to make everything myself (hummus/biscuts/bars/cookies/whatever. i really really want some sort of blender for christmas, where can you get the vita-mix at??? i sewed today too!!!

    • Ashlei says:

      I didn’t know you sewed!! What are you making?

      I got my VM last year during a Black Friday special – they dropped the price of their reconditioned ones. Basically the reconditioned ones are less because they’ve been used as demonstrations or were returns from people within the 30 day window you have. They give you a new container though. It’s kind of like buying an open-box item. Check the VM website around Thanksgiving and they should have some available for less (though there are many other less expensive good blenders, just not as powerful as this one). The VM website directed my to their official ebay dealer, and shipping was also free. πŸ™‚ Hope that wasn’t too much info!

      xoxo

  4. Pingback: Butternut Squash Pudding | The Vegster

  5. Pingback: Crunch Time | The Vegster

  6. Jessy says:

    Hey! I’ve just stumbled across your blog and this post seems super useful! I always see bloggers use canned Pumpkin, but I have never actually seen a can of Pumpkin before, lol … we only have real, home-cultivated pumpkin. πŸ™‚
    Anddd, I’ve never eaten hummus. What did you put in the food processor, besides (cooked?) gabranzos?

    • Ashlei says:

      Hey girl! So glad you stumbled on my blog πŸ™‚

      For hummus I’ll throw cooked garbanzos, about 1 tbsp lemon juice, some water to get things to puree better, usually 2 cloves of garlic, 2 tbsp of tahini (sesame seed paste), a pinch of salt and about 1/4-1/2 tsp cumin. It’s really versatile so if you don’t have those spices then that’s ok. And I’ve seen people use peanut butter instead of tahini, but I definitely prefer the tahini. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for your reply! (I set up an account yesterday to make following the blogs a bit easier for me – unfortunately not all use wordpress though, heh.)

        I’ll definitely try to make this soon. What is it usually eaten with?

      • Ashlei says:

        I’ve seen it eaten with just about everything! Usually things to dip in like baby carrots, but I put it on sandwiches with veggies too. I’ve seen it eaten with sweet potatoes too. Sometimes I’ll just put some on my plate to eat plain πŸ™‚

        I use Google Reader to follow blogs, and just keep my subscriptions in there because it doesn’t matter if it’s wordpress or not πŸ™‚

  7. Hey, I just wondered if you could help me with something – if I make pumpkin puree, how much time will it last? I guess I can keep it in a fridge, but for how much time?

  8. Pingback: The Personal Blender | The Vegster

  9. Pingback: Variations of the Breakfast Parfait | The Vegster

  10. Pingback: Breakfast for Dinner | The Vegster

  11. Pingback: Homemade Cream of Millet | The Vegster

  12. Pingback: Stir Fried | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

