Natural Remedies

I’m a huge fan of making everything myself. That’s not to say I do it all the time, but homemade is always better.

Let me rewind a little bit. Thursday I had to have minor surgery to have a mucocele removed from my lip. Basically I had this over-producing salivary gland that formed this little pocket/bubble on my lip.

I opted to have anesthesia used for it but just local numbing. My lip is swollen, painful, and all stitched up. It’s hard to eat, talk, or smile, which makes for doing anything a little challenging.

However, I’ve made myself a natural mouthwash that I’m hoping will help with the swelling (along with lots of icing).

Witch hazel is a natural astringent, so it’s supposed to really help with that.
Witch hazel, aloe vera juice (because it’s antimicrobial), distilled water, tea tree oil (because it’s antimicrobial), and peppermint essential oil (for taste, I suppose?).

photo-1

I already had everything on hand except the witch hazel, which I went and picked up from Earthfare. There’s is alcohol-free and totally pure (you can find witch hazel at drug stores but it usually contains iso-propyl alcohol).

The witch hazel I’m also going to use as a face cleaner….two birds with one stone 😉

photo-2

Just combine everything in a jar, and refrigerate. To use, just take 1 tbsp of the mix and add it to about 1/4 cup of warm water.

This is what meals have looked like: smooth, creamy foods. I’ve eaten a little bit of solid stuff but it’s really a challenge!

photo

How’s everyone’s weekend going?

This entry was posted in health, nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Natural Remedies

  1. Tara Savage says:

    I never heard of home made mouth wash! I hope it works, and I hope your lip heals and you can return to “normalcy” soon! ❤ ❤

  2. Oh…I hope you feel better soon, girl!!!

  3. Katie says:

    Feel better!! Props to you for making your own mouthwash!

  4. Pingback: It’s Never Too Early… | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

