Pumpkin Pancakes

Sometimes, even when time is short, you have to take the time to indulge and enjoy the little things. I haven’t made pancakes in so long I’d really been wanting some. And wanting to try out a new Calphalon non-stick griddle pan I’d purchased on clearance at Target ($15…I couldn’t resist). Usually I use my cast iron, but it sticks with pancakes too much.

I’ve been loving pumpkin everything lately, and decided to add it into my pancakes.

photo

Same ol’ same ol’ recipe I use…mostly just throwing ingredients into a bowl, I know it so well.

Heat pan to medium heat.

Combine 4 tbsp flour/protein powder combo (I usually do 2 and 2), 1/2 – 2tbsp flaxseeds, milk (usually coconut), pinch of salt, baking powder and baking soda, cinnamon. Let it sit for a minute or two then add more liquid because the flax will act as a binder and thicken it a little. At this point I added in a couple heaping spoonfuls of pumpkin, plus more liquid until I got a good consistency (not too runny but not muffin batter thick either).

Add in any add-ins (or wait and put them on top like I do).

Cook both sides until done.

Voila! Easy!

I was at Kroger today and saw a Pumpkin Spice kefir by Lifeway Kefir. This may find it’s way into my cart next trip. And some non-dairy Nog <3 Isn’t the holiday season grand? I think so. I love seasonality.

What holiday grocery  products do you always look forward to?

I love the scented candles, lotions, body products, etc. And the teas! The pumpkin spice, peppermint mochas, and nog-flavored items.

This entry was posted in health, nutrition, recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Katie says:

    Hey Ashlei! I wish I could eat that Pumpkin kefir, but I am noticing that I have an intolerance to dairy. Do you have the same sort of problem? If so, how do you cope?

    I love the pancake recipe! I am jotting it down right after I comment. :) I have never tried eggnog, but I am interested in trying the Silk kind! Maybe next time I go shopping. :)

    See you! Come check out my new blog. :)

    • Ashlei says:

      Hey girl! Didn’t realize you got a new blog!

      I don’t find that I’m intolerant to dairy, just gluten. I try to just eat yogurt though and limit my intake of cheese. I prefer non-dairy milks though and I think Silk also has a pumpkin spice flavor too :)

  2. Katie says:

    I love the Candy Cane Lane tea. I stock up every year!

  3. Pumpkin spice kefir?! I commend your self-control…I think I’d have bought them all :P
    When I was in the store today I saw the Silk nog and was wondering if it’s good. I used to love the real deal, but my stomach was never a fan!! Farrr too rich, but I love the taste, flavor and “seasonal”-ness of it. I can’t wait for green mountain’s eggnog coffee, which is wayyy better than it sounds :)

    • Ashlei says:

      No idea what the eggnog coffee is but it sounds amazing! Silk nog is awesome, and definitely much less rich than the real deal. I bet your tummy could handle it :)

  4. Yum, I wish I could find similar flavored kefir water! The pancakes look wonderful. I’m a fan of fall flavored coffees and teas.

  5. Kelly says:

    I just found eggnog flavord tea at the store yesterday….of course I snagged it! I can’t wait to try it out. Historically I am NOT a tea drinker but I couldn’t pass anything with eggnog on the front! I mean seriously??

  6. yes yes! always add pumpkin to everything while you can! look at all those pancakes!! a breakfast fit for a queen or king, or just a hungry Ashlei ;)

  7. Tara says:

    YUMM those sound and look delicious!!!! I’d have to say im most looking forward to super fresh apples, i know its lame but i love in season fruits!! =D

  8. hihorosie says:

    um, hello! I heart pumpkin too. I wouldn’t mind some of these. :)

  9. Jenny says:

    Anything with pumpkin is delicious. I mixed some TJ’s pumpkin butter into my oatmeal this morning. I’ve never tried eggnog, though I don’t think I would like it very much.

  10. Pingback: There’s Chocolate in my Pumpkin Pancakes | The Vegster

  11. Pingback: Breakfast Bonanza Finale « Running To Slow Things Down

  12. Pingback: It’s Never Too Early… | The Vegster

  13. Pingback: coffee and pancakes | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

