Pumpkin Stuffed French Toast

Doesn’t that just sound amazing?! Well let me tell you….it was! Oh my, it most certainly was.

I love fall. The cooling temperatures. The changing of the leaves.

The abundance of winter squash. What’s NOT to love?

Ok, ok, I miss the abundance of daylight hours, but other than that….I really do love fall. The weather really is perfect.

Just like this morning’s breakfast.

I was going to try this over the weekend but instead just opted for a more traditional french toast recipe.

What was I thinking?! More traditional? I should be eating my weight in sweet potatoes, garnet yams, and winter squash!

Pumpkin French Toast (with Stuffed variation)

serves 1

  • 2 slices of GF cinnamon raisin bread
  • 1/3 cup canned organic pumpkin, butternut squash or sweet potato
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 organic egg

Pre-heat a griddle to medium low heat. Whisk together the egg, pumpkin, vanilla extract, and pumpkin pie spice in a bowl. Dip the bread into the batter mix until both sides are thinly coated. Coat the griddle with a little coconut or extra virgin olive oil. Add the french toast slices to the pan and cook until both sides are done.Serve with apple butter and maple syrup.
For the Stuffed French Toast variation, bake the remaining filling in silicon cups in the toaster over at 400F for ~15 minutes or until done.
Serve and enjoy!

P1010329

I topped mine with some Barney Butter, apple butter (love it!), maple syrup, and more pumpkin pie spice. Served alongside some goat’s milk yogurt and fresh figs.

P1010330

After a long day at school, still sore from my half marathon yesterday, I wanted something simple.

Grilled baby bok choy and brussel sprouts, on top of 2 fried eggs and some grilled shrimp. Simple. Delicious!

P1010331

While I wanted dinner to be simple, it seems I didn’t mind putting in a little time to make some chocolate macaroons. Two fulls trays worth in the dehydrator right now.

P1010332

I may have sampled the batter…..it was like eating brownie batter. What can I say? Sometimes licking the bowl is the best part ;)

Have you tried making any raw dessert before?

I’m loving Dancing With The Stars this weekend. Any other fans?

Thank you to everyone for all the great comments on my first half!!! I’ll be tackling another one at the end of October, plus I’ve already signed up for the Disney Princess Half Marathon in February. I can’t wait!! It’s good to be back into running.

This entry was posted in exercise, health, nutrition, raw foods, recipe, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pumpkin Stuffed French Toast

  1. Yum! I’m so jealous of your Disney princess half!!! I almost signed up for it until I looked at my school calendar and I have a teacher instutute day that Friday, which I am not allowed to take off. Stupid.

    • Ashlei says:

      Awww noooo!!! I don’t know where you live, but I guess there’s no chance of making it down after that. I love all things Disney so I’m super super excited about it. What better place to run than around the Magic Kingdom and Epcot? :)

  2. Katie says:

    ahhhhhhhhhhh love the pumpkin yum!!! Oh girl you know Ive been enjoying pumpkin too!

    Love the macaroons, wish i was there to steal some!

    Love u! Love the new layout! xoxo

  3. Tes says:

    The pumpkin fresh toast look so yummy! I can’t wait to try it for breakfast soon.
    Thanks for this yummy recipe!

  4. Katie says:

    Everyone is just oozing fall loving these days. I admit to buying a pumpkin spice candle that has been burning for about 4 hours now…my house smells awesome!

  5. Oh dear. I am now craving pumpkin, french toast and macaroons. This can’t be good. :P

  6. Yum, Yum and more Yum! Your dinner looks heavenly to me! I am obsessed with all of the ingredients! I will most certainly be following more of you! You are fun too! Loves it!

  7. hihorosie says:

    mmm…pumpkin….and those macs look super good!

Leave a Reply

