Bluegrass Half Marathon Race Recap

I’m officially aΒ half-marathoner. 13.1 miles of splashing through the non-stop pouring rain.

Official time was 2:14 (10:14/mi). I’m thinking the chip timing wasn’t working because my Garmin time was 2:13:32 for 13.12 mi and I didn’t start it until I was crossing the start line. Maybe the rain messed things up. Ah well. Not bad for a first showing!

I’ve been out of training for the past month or so because of my knee, but there were no problems today with it. Just lots of soreness in my hips! Oy! I can hardly move.

My stuff from the race expo yesterday:

P1010320

And the cool technical tee. πŸ™‚

P1010321

Pre-race I fueled with a bagel topped with some Barney Butter, and a banana. I filled the two bottles of my Fuel Belt with some coconut water and some water, just in case I needed hydration between the water stations. Which I did!

I decided to bring along one of the Clif Shot Gels and I was so glad I did around mile 6. The first 6 miles was fun and enjoyable. Once I hit 7-8 things started to get sore and stiff. At mile 10 I willed myself through telling myself it was just a 5k to go.

At mile 11 my shoe came untied and I couldn’t keep it tied after stopping and tying it twice, so I just went with it and ran with it untied.

The last mile was probably the longest mile I’ve ever run, but crossing the finish line was so rewarding!! I grabbed my medal from one of the volunteers and hobbled inside out of the rain to grab some recovery food. Bananas and oranges have never tasted so good! I also snagged some Clif Twisted Fruits and Larabar minis for later.

Then waiting in line for a massage. If I didn’t get the massage I’m sure I’d feel so much more sore!

P1010323

I came home and burned a bowl of teff while showering, so I then made a bowl of oatbran and took a nap. Naps are the best recovery πŸ˜‰

A large chunk of today was spent in bed. Sleeping. Reading. Taking it easy. πŸ™‚

This evening I felt like venturing out. I planned on going to Target to look for Season 1 of Gilmore Girls, but wandered into TJ Maxx instead.

I fell in love with this necklace: a Swarvoski. Isn’t it beautiful? I love bumble bees. (Notice the header!) πŸ˜‰

Don’t mind the close up of my hand!

P1010325

I also got a merino wool sweater plus another sweater. I love shopping.

Nothing like rewarding oneself for a job well done!

I may have bought some more decorations too. πŸ˜‰ And some apple pie Larabars for 70 cents!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

This entry was posted in exercise, Running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bluegrass Half Marathon Race Recap

  1. Nice job on your half! I would have been so upset about the rain, so I’m glad you had a good attitude about it!! I never wait in line for the massages – I am always way too impatient!

    Congrats!

  2. Lorinda says:

    A huge congrats on finishing your first half (of many I’m sure)!! You made it in great time!

    And very nice bling!! You definitely earned them both!

  3. Katie says:

    You rock, you runner.

    I went shopping today too! I went to get Halloween decorations (because of you!) and didn’t find any, but I did get a new comforter and a great new scarf. Sometimes I actually like shopping.

    Oh, and I heart Gilmore Girls.

    • Ashlei says:

      Aww shucks, thanks Katie!

      No Halloween decorations? How can stores NOT have them?!

      And I don’t think it’s possible for anyone to not heart Gilmore Girls. πŸ™‚

  4. great job on the race! sorry about the rain but awesome getting through it! i did a 10k like that two years ago…it was certainly difficult!

  5. Awesome job on the half girl!! Don’t you feel so accomplished?! And shopping is the perfect way to reward yourself for a job well done, I agree πŸ™‚

  6. BOOYAAA!!! nice job my dear!!!! thats a huge accomplishment! i have my half coming up soon.. urgh i pulled my IT band tho so my knees are shot to hell. i hope i can rest them in time to be ready.
    GOOD JOB AND CONGRATS ❀

    btw i cant believe that after i wrote yesterdays comment in the morning, i went to value village and was looking through the used books when i came across the MOOSEWOOD COOKBOOK for 3.29!!! i just did a post with it. omg, when i saw it i thought of you, and couldnt help but think u had something to do with it πŸ˜‰ hehe

    xoxo ❀

    • Ashlei says:

      Thanks girls! You’ll do great at your half too! Lots of rest and the IT band will be good to go I hope πŸ™‚

      That’s so awesome about the book! I can’t believe you found it for only $3.29!! What are you going to try first? I’m going to go check out the post now πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

  7. Steph says:

    Told ya you’d do awesome! Congrats Ms. Half-Marathoner!

  8. zeebee says:

    Woo Hoo!! Congrats on your half!! Another title to throw under your belt πŸ™‚ Nice Job!

  9. Awesome time, congrats! I’ll be lucky if I get anywhere near that for my half next weekend! πŸ˜› I’ve been noticing sore hips with training too, not fun.

  10. Pingback: Pumpkin Stuffed French Toast | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

