Bring Out The Halloween Decorations!

It’s almost October and you know what that means??

HALLOWEEN!!! One of my favorite holidays!

I unloaded my small box of decorations and set them up around the house.

(After Halloween I plan on getting more decorations….on sale!) πŸ˜‰

French press with a Halloween-themed mug.

P1010284

I mostly just have stuffed animals I place around to add a little decorative flair. For now.

P1010303

Propped atop my sewing box.

P1010304

Keeping me company in my room.

P1010305

In the chair by my flute, on top of my fruit and veggie quilt πŸ™‚

P1010308

There was an emergency coffee run to Earthfare this afternoon. I was accompanied by my Halloween Starbucks tumbler. If Starbucks was on the way I would’ve stopped there to get an Americano but it was the opposite direction.

I realize now how weak I like my coffee. Almost like flavored water I guess. The stuff I got was so strong it could’ve put hairs on anyones chest. (How’s that for some imagery?)

P1010319

I picked up my race packet today for my FIRST half marathon tomorrow! I hope my knee holds up! I’ve been resting it and taking it for shorts runs where it’s been fine so let’s see how 13.1 miles will be.

P1010320

I really like the shirts they gave us (it’s a Brooks technical tee…way cool!).

Plus some free Clif Shots (which I’ve never tried, but they’re GF), and some Clif Twisted Fruits. Also a container of O.N.E. Passion Fruit Coconut Water. I like free stuff when it’s good.

P1010321

Let’s hope for good weather tomorrow!

I’ll leave you with this cool pumpkin chart. It’s incredible how many different kinds of pumpkin there are!

Pumpkin-ID-Chart-lg

Time to go devour a sweet potato and maybe some oatmeal. Nothing wrong with that for dinner, right? πŸ˜‰

What’s the longest race you’ve done? Runners: If you haven’t signed up for a race, would you do one?

So far for me just an 8K.

What’s your favorite kind of squash?

So far I like them all except spaghetti squash. Maybe I’ve just been eating it wrong?

P.S. For a peak at how living a healthy lifestyle check out Danielle’s latest post where she analyzed her own blood samples for hemoglobin, hematocrit, and HDL levels. I’m curious what my values are. Has anyone ever had their levels tested?

Sorry for the sporadic and randomness! Hope everyone’s having a great weekend! πŸ™‚

xoxo

This entry was posted in exercise, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Bring Out The Halloween Decorations!

  1. I have run lots of races, including 2 half marathons! Good luck tomorrow, you’ll do great!

    I thought my favorite squash was acorn, until I looked at the chart and realized it was actually a kobacha squash!!!

  2. Nikki says:

    I love, love Halloween too!! πŸ™‚ I have a Ty Halloween beanie too πŸ™‚ Love him!

    I do the energy gel shots too for long runs (they say to have one before you start and then again after every 15 minutes) some want you to have lots of water with them since they are so thick. I haven’t tried Clif because I tried Gu which are good enough that I didnt need to try more brands. Some of the flavors aren’t so good. I really like the chocolate because it tastes good whether its cool or warm (like when it’s been in a pocket during a long run) haha.

    Good luck on your first half marathon!! You’ll do great!

    I’m starting my marathon training tomorrow and I have talked Jason into running it with me. So we are going running in the morning. I got one of the new iPod nanos which has a bunch of cool new features! Love it πŸ™‚

    Favorite type of squash, hands down butternut!! It’s good roasted, or in a soup, yum!

    Longest run: 13.1 πŸ™‚

    I’ve never had my blood levels tested but a few times when I have gone to give blood the people said that I had just barely enough iron to be able to donate. When they put a drop in that solution and it sinks — mine went down very slow. So I try to eat a lot of broccoli, spinach, and red meat occasionally. I’d take a multi-vitamin but they just upset my stomach too much, blah. πŸ™‚

    • Ashlei says:

      I love Halloween decorations πŸ™‚ I need more though!

      I’ve never had the energy shots or gels so I’m hoping they’ll sit well with my stomach. Tomorrow will be the longest run I’ve ever done. I’m nervous and excited! Thanks for letting me know about the water!

      That’s so awesome you’ve convinced Jason to do the marathon! 26.2 mi. Yikes! That’s incredible Nikki. I hope you’ll post about marathon training and how it’s going. What are some of the new features on the nano? I didn’t know they came out with a new one. I love my old one though. πŸ™‚

      Oooh I love butternut too! I hope I can find them soon at the store and they aren’t too expensive. πŸ™‚

      • Nikki says:

        We will still have to see if either of us makes it to thru the training, lol! This is the original reason that I made the blog … posting exercise successes πŸ™‚ I think it might be good motivation to look back and see all that I have done and such.

        The nano has Genius mode which my last ipod didn’t have so its new and exciting to me at least. It has an FM tuner (radio) and you can tag songs to download later from itunes if you want! It has a pedometer and a way to track miles run and PRs for all different distances. Its also touch screen, you slide thru the apps like on the iphone and the buttons are that same size. The screen can hold 4 app logos, about the size of the old clip shuffle. It also has a clip built in so no armband needed, and the screen can be flipped around so you can look at it from any angle and you will see it right side up πŸ™‚ The radio really did it for me and then I loved the exercise component too. I got the product red one so part of my money was donated to support AIDS research. I’ll prob post pics tomorrow after my run. I need to figure out a good system on here to track my miles and totals and stuff…

      • Ashlei says:

        Oh yeah I love the genius feature. When it works. Sometimes newer songs aren’t on there. Ooh the radio feature is really cool! I’m surprised Apple didn’t put that on there sooner. And a pedometer! Ok, yeah the new nano is seriously cool!

        I use Daily Mile to track all my stuff. You should look into it. It’s super easy to use and you can put in all different kinds of activities and it will track them weekly.

  3. Good luck with the Half Marathon! I ran my first one back in June! I was so proud of myself afterward, but have had NO desire to do it again yet! πŸ˜‰ Maybe I will someday, though!

    I want to get out my Halloween decorations now! But I don’t want to tackle our storage locker to find them… eek.

  4. Katie says:

    I have not one Halloween decoration. I think I have 5 Christmas ones…not much of a decorator, I guess.

    We need to talk about this whole coffee thing, Ashlei.

  5. Good luck on the race! I’m sure you will do a great job! The furthest I’ve run is 8.5 miles when I trained for my 10k. I haven’t run more than 4 miles since then, we’ll see if I ever feel like running far distances again! I love fall and fall food/decorations/weather/etc., but I’m not a huge fan of Halloween! I think just because it’s my birthday, so I prefer to celebrate my way. I’ve been eating a ton of squash lately. I just got an orange buttercup (that’s what I was told anyway). I usually get acorn, it’s my favorite right now but I haven’t tried a lot yet. I didn’t realize there were so many varieties!

    • Ashlei says:

      Thanks Kady!! πŸ™‚ I definitely enjoy my shorter runs much more than my longer ones. I have much more speed and stamina, and they’re just so much more fun. Your birthday is Halloween?? I’m sure I’d prefer my birthday too over Halloween. lol.

      I love squash! If you haven’t tried kabocha I think you’ll love it. It’s really similar to acorn squash, which is one of my faves, but you can eat the skin. Extra fiber πŸ™‚ Hope you’ve had a great weekend!! xoxo

  6. teenagehealthfreak says:

    i really haven’t tried that many types of squash..but i plan on it this year.. i would definatly WOULD’VE done some awesome runs..but with sacrem and knee problems..i don’t know much running is in my future…love the halloween decor!!..fun! πŸ™‚

  7. GOOD LUCK ON THE HALF! You’ll do great!

    I’m so excited for my half next weekend. I also did my first race last week πŸ™‚

  8. kbwood says:

    I cannot believe that its ALMOST HALLOWEEN!! AHH! GOOD LUCK ON THE HALF LOVE!

    • Ashlei says:

      Aww thanks girl!! I can’t believe it’s almost Halloween too!! πŸ˜€ Yay!

      Hope you’ve enjoyed your weekend! How was the mud run?? That’s pretty hardcore!

      xoxo

  9. Lorinda says:

    Best of luck on your half tomorrow!! Super exciting!

    My first half is two weeks from tomorrow–gulp! Can’t wait to hear all about yours.

    • Ashlei says:

      Thanks girl!! I’m sure you’ll do awesome on your half. No expectations on the first except to finish, right? πŸ˜‰ I’ve been off of running for a couple weeks because of my knee, and came back and ran pretty strong which I’m so proud of! Which half are you running?

      • Lorinda says:

        I’m running the Goodlife Fitness Victoria (BC, Canada) half on the 10th.

        Even with your problem knee you still did much better than I expect to–fantastic job! But yes, it is all just about finishing for the first one. Really. [deep zen breath] πŸ™‚

      • Ashlei says:

        Only 2 weeks or so!! You’ll be great! πŸ™‚

  10. Steph says:

    GOOD LUCK! You’re going to do awesome!

  11. Seasonal decorations are something I always miss about being home!! Love the beanie babies, btw πŸ™‚

    Longest I’ve run is a half marathon…currently in training for my second!! Whee!!

    Hope you’ve had a great weekend love!!

    • Ashlei says:

      Haha don’t the beanie babies rock? πŸ™‚

      When’s the half you’re training for? I know you’ll do great! Your splits are always fantastic! Hope you’ve had a great weekend too!! xoxoxo

  12. Kelly says:

    I like Halloween also!! Such a fun holiday. The longest race I have ever run is a marathon…26.2! YEA! And my favorite squash is butternut!! I love the flavor..kind of sweet but still savory. Best of both worlds!!

  13. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    Congrats on your first half marathon! I’m guessing you’re finished by now; how’d you do?

    I’ve run two full marathons and three halfs, but I’m having to sit out this year’s marathon thanks to a nagging knee injury :[

    You know, I don’t like spaghetti squash either! I really, really want to, but…it just never does it for me.

    • Ashlei says:

      I did so great for my first one! πŸ™‚ I’m so proud of myself. Ran 10:10 min miles, unofficially. Still waiting for the actual results to be posted but time is somewhere around 2:14!!! So much better than my goal time of 2:30 πŸ˜€

      Knee injuries are the worst! I’ve been out for about a month because of my knee. Just been doing lots of strength training and some pool running to keep up my cardio. I don’t know if I could ever do a full marathon…I’m always so impressed by people who do run them.

      I wish I liked spaghetti squash too, but I just can’t bring myself to like it.

      Hope you’ve had a great weekend!

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

        Yay, congrats! That sounds almost exactly like my first half – I planned on 2:30, at the last minute joined the 2:20 pace group, and ended up running 2:15. Awesome accomplishment for you!

        My first race ever was actually a full marathon, hehβ€”I’d never even done a 5k! But I had, of course, done the necessary training; You’d be surprised what your body can do…you might just find yourself doing a full someday!

      • Ashlei says:

        First race as a marathon?? Way to go! That’s incredible. I’ve done a couple of 5K’s but since it’s pretty much a sprint to the finish line I don’t enjoy them too much. Definitely prefer longer distances at easier paces πŸ™‚

  14. Hope you had a great half marathon today!

    A half marathon would be a whole lot of marathon for me – I have yet to do a race. I’m building up to running a 5K. (I’ve never really ran before, only walked. I’m trying to get used to running now!)

  15. ITS GHOSTIE AND PUMPKIN MAN!! aweee!!! i love halloween decorations!! ohhh and i have a wonderful pumpkin mug i need to bring out soon ❀

Leave a Reply

