Homemade Pizza

I’m so glad it’s college football season. Aren’t you?

I just finished watching the UF vs. UT game and loved it! I was a little nervous the first half but we pulled it off in the end. 31-17W (Gators!!)

What teams are you cheering for?

After a busy day of work, some homework, a short power name, and of course the game, I was ready for some dinner.

I love dinners that are easy and come together really nicely as if you’ve spent a lot of time on them.

I love having homemade crust in my freezer so that I can thaw it, roll it out, and make some pizza in a jiffy.

Being gluten-free, I use Bob’s Red Mill GF pizza crust mix. It says it will yield 2 crusts but I always tend to turn it into 3. Especially since I’m just cooking for one. I’d rather have fresh pizza more often, than lots of leftover pizza (though I do love some leftovers).

While the crust was doing its initial baking I grilled some zucchini, tempeh, brussel sprouts, and pre-cooked chicken I had in the freezer (notice a theme on freezing?). (I also made some hummus – I’m a multitasker like that.) After the crust was cooked through I topped it with some sliced tomatoes, and my grilled zucchini, tempeh and chicken, then some goat cheese and Kerry Gold (grass-fed) cheese. It was amazing.

And topped off with a drizzle of EVOO and a couple leaves of basil from my windowsill garden.

photo-3

Don’t underestimate the final drizzle at the end. It adds a burst of flavor and some healthy fats. Delicious!

photo-2

Topped with some garlic gold too. Can’t have too much! šŸ˜‰

photo-1

And my purple basil plant.

Hello, lovely!

What’s a quick dinner you like to make in a jiffy?

Do you have a garden or windowsill garden? What are you growing?

This entry was posted in health, nutrition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Pizza

  1. Hi Ashlei! Just saying hi and wishing you a great weekend!! The pizza looks great, love the herbs you put on!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Wowza, what a pizza! Love the medley of toppings.

  3. teenagehealthfreak says:

    your basil plant looks so healthy+ pretty …it looks fake!!! wow. we’re going to start our fall garden soon (yeah..it’s acctually a little late..oh well.) with some kale, greens, squash…and i think that’s it…chalups are a no-fail quick dinner! šŸ™‚ your pizza looks yummmmmm….i love veggie loaded pizzas!!! have a nice weekend.

  4. Katie says:

    Damn, now that’s a pizza!

  5. GO CAL BEARRSSS!!

    And wow your meal looks like it came from a gourmet restaurant.
    Please come to Cali and cook for me?!
    Oh and I’ve never seen anyone (at least in the blog world) grow purple basil. It’s so good with eggplant and tofu.

  6. hihorosie says:

    A LOADED pizza! Looks great!

  7. Oh my gosshhhh, homemade pizza is my favorite. I could eat it for every meal. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

