Raw Macaroons

Anyone else wishing the warm weather was back? Spring just started and it’s back to being in the 40s again. Bring back the sunshine please?

So yesterday I made some raw macaroons in 3 flavors: Vanilla, Almond, and Mint Chocolate, and received some fantastic comments about them, so without further ado how about the recipe? Most macaroon recipes are pretty similar, and this one was adapted from one of my favorite un-cookbooks: Raw Food Real World.

P1000763

Vanilla Macaroons (with the Almond Variation):

  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup almond meal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup (or honey/agave)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • For Almond Macaroons: add 1/4 tsp almond extract, or to taste

Chocolate Mint Macaroons:

  • 1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1.5 tbsp maple syrup (or honey/agave)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp mint extract
  • a pinch of sea salt

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, then scoop them onto dehydrator sheets lined with the Teflex sheets. Dehydrate at 115 for at least 12 hours, or until the outside is crispy and the inside is chewy. May require more time, or if you dehydrate at a higher temperature, less time.

Optional add-ins:

  • cinnamon
  • Stevia (such as the coca bean extract pictured below)
  • dried fruit
  • other ground nuts instead of almond
  • nut butter
  • chocolate slivers
  • flaxseed
  • hempseeds

P1000758

P1000762

My appetite has been out of control lately, so I snacked on this: Blueberry Chobani with fresh blueberries, hemp seeds, and shredded coconut, the last of my two small jars of Artisana Cashew Butter and Macadamia Butter, and 2 gluten free cookies.

P1000765

Dinner was the usual roasted veggies in coconut oil: brussel sprouts, broccoli slaw, broccoli, green beans, edamame, and peas.

P1000767

With a slice of this new bread I got after seeing Tyler and the Fitnessista loving it.

P1000766

With some butter I picked up! I haven’t had butter in ages and this is from grass-fed cows and is absolutely delicious. Oh how I love fats.

P1000768

I loved this bread. Loved it!

The slices are smaller than the Ezekiel bread I used to eat before finding out gluten and I don’t get along, but the bread was a bit more dense so it was just as filling. The texture and taste were both really great! Needless to say I’ll be eating more with lunch later, and my leftover roasted veggies. 🙂

P1000769

And this is a new spread I picked up at Marshall’s when I was in FL. I love olives – they’re so tangy tasting, and this spread really brought my roasted veggies to a new level! Will definitely be using it again!P1000770

What are your “go-to” meals that you could, or do, eat every day and not get sick of them?

Have you tried millet bread? What are your thoughts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Raw Macaroons

  1. Kathleen says:

    I love peaunut butter and prettttty much HAVE to eat it every day 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, isn’t millet bread the best?! Definitely one of my favorite blog world finds. Have a great Monday chica!

  3. Matt says:

    That millet loaf will be my next one 😉 I have heard it is awesome!

  4. Melinda says:

    Thanks for the recipes! I’m definitely going to try these. Do you know how long to bake and at what temp – no dehydrator here…

    • Ashlei says:

      I wish I new how to bake them! I’d probably start around 300F and keep my eye on them after 30 or so minutes. Let me know how you like them! 😀

  5. fitandfortysomething says:

    love the macaroons! i wonder if you could make them in an oven on very low if you don’t have a dehydrator.
    i would also love to try the millet bread. have not yet.
    i think i could eat pasta or salad all the time well and add anything with almond butter!
    have a great day…..sorry about the weather 😦

    • Ashlei says:

      I bet the oven method would work too! I have no clue about temps and times though.

      Millet bread is a definitely winner. Very buttery tasting and not grainy at all like wheat bread. I was hooked first bite!

  6. YUM those maccaroons look SO good! and I am jewish so they look perfect for passover coming up soon!!

  7. From Party To Hearty says:

    I just picked up some macadamia butter. Can’t wait to try it!

  8. I’ve never tried millet bread but by the way you speak of it I REALLY want to try it!

  9. kbwood says:

    i MUST find millet bread! that looks amazing! i heard it was GREAT. love your grocery loop girl!

  10. Gena says:

    Love millet bread!!!! It hasn’t got the grainy texture I like, but it’s a nice alternative.

    I could eat kale salad every night forever and not mind it.

    And your macaroons look delish!!!

  11. Katie says:

    Roasted veggies (kabocha in particular) seem to find their way onto my table at least once a day, whether in salad form or over quinoa…Off to make some right now!

    • Ashlei says:

      Oooh haven’t had quinoa in, ohhh, too long! I need some kabocha back in my life! It’s $1.69/lb at Earthfare 😦 Why are the good things so expensive. If only I could find it for $1/lb…I’d grab a bunch!

  12. The macaroons look and sound delish! Girl, you’ve been BUSY!!! 😀

    Hugs,
    Michele

  13. Pingback: Push Push, Turn It Up « The Vegster

  14. Lauren says:

    Macaroons are my favorite!! Especially in the raw! Mmmm! I love that Millet bread too!!

  15. Pingback: I Need Ideas « The Vegster

  16. Pingback: Grawnola and Overnight OIAJ « The Vegster

  17. Pingback: It’s Finally Friday! « The Vegster

  18. Pingback: Look What I Got! « The Vegster

  19. Pingback: Earth Week Challenges Pt. 1 « The Vegster

  20. Pingback: Just Wing It « The Vegster

  21. Pingback: Typical « The Vegster

  22. Pingback: Pumpkin Stuffed French Toast | The Vegster

  23. Pingback: Two Moms In The Raw | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

