Homemade Bolognese Sauce

Bolognese sauce is one of those intimidating recipes I put off making for a long time. I didn’t know about the carrots and the celery in it either. All I could think was, “that just sounds weird.” But I finally bit the bullet, and with my new love of slow cooking and braising foods I figured I would finally give it a try.

No clue what I was so afraid of. This has got to be my new favorite meat sauce recipe! Letting it simmer slowly on the stovetop for an hour or two melds the flavors together in this incredibly delicious sauce.

DSC_0019

I followed this recipe over at Skinny Taste, omitting the pancetta since I don’t eat pork, skipping the half-and-half since I didn’t think it needed it and I wanted the tomato flavor to really come out, and I added more carrots and celery than called for and skipped the fresh parsley in favor of basil.

Don’t let the long cook time scare you away from making this. Just let it simmer on low while you go do something else for the 60-90 minutes and come back to a beautiful sauce.

DSC_0021

Serve it up on a bed of pasta or as I did, as a side to leftover pizza. Classy.

This entry was posted in food, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Bolognese Sauce

  1. i have never had bolognese sauce but i bet it’s good!

  2. Janet says:

    This tastes great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Matt says:

    I’ve been wanting to try a bolognese for a while, but haven’t gotten around to it for some reason. Looks like I should give it a shot this weekend…but 95% ground beef will not be used. 85% at the leanest!

Leave a Reply

