Lamb Saag {Saffron Road}

It’s not very often I’ll buy something boxed from the frozen section. When I do, it’s usually because I can’t make it myself and I’ve had a craving for some kind of ethnic food. As well as I can cook, things like Indian and Thai foods have a list of spices and ingredients I don’t really keep on hand plus it’s SO difficult to match what you get in a restaurant. So I let other companies do most of the work for me.

I came across this at the grocery store – made with pasture-raised lamb fed a 100% vegetarian diet and raised without antibiotics. Their products are certified humane (raised & handled), a factor that’s really important to me when choosing meats. I also love that they support local farmers and family-owned farms.

photo

Ok, so on to the food. Tender lamb cubes, lightly spiced with turmeric and authentic herbs, served in a thick bed of spinach.

My thoughts? Absolutely delicious! I’d definitely pick this up again. The spices and herbs were a great flavor, and while I would have preferred brown rice since white just doesn’t do it for me in the flavor department, it still made for an awesome meal. Served with a side of peas…just my style when eating frozen ethnic food.

photo-1

Other flavors that I want to try include chicken tikka masala (one of my favorites!), moroccan lamb stew, lamb vinadaloo, and lemongrass basil chicken.

Until I can find a friend where I live that likes Indian food, I’ll just reserve the restaurant-quality for when my mom visits, and stick with this for now. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll become adventurous enough to attempt to make one.

What are your favorite ethnic cuisines and dishes? Have you tried making them at home with success?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lamb Saag {Saffron Road}

  1. Janet says:

    i will have to try some, looks great!

Leave a Reply

