Light and Fluffy Brownies

After seeing numerous recipes for black bean brownies, I’ve been wanting to create my own. Or just make some in general. ;)

Stay with me here – you can’t even notice there are black beans in the brownies. Instead of using flour, sugar, and butter, I opted for pureed black beans and chocolate peanut butter.

DSC_0035

Light and Fluffy Black Bean Brownies
makes 1 8×8 tray

  • 2 cups cooked black beans
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 3 T. chocolate peanut butter
  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 2 T. chocolate protein powder (optional)
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c. chocolate chips
  • coconut oil or butter, for greasing

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease your 8×8 pan and set aside.

Puree the black beans with the water in a food processor. Add in the chocolate peanut butter, cocoa powder, and protein powder, if using, and puree until smooth.

Pour into a medium sized mixing bowl and whisk in the eggs and baking powder. Add the chocolate chips.

Pour mixture into your baking tray and bake for 25 minutes, or until done.

Let cool and cut into 6-9 slices.

Substitutions: use almond or coconut milk instead of water; use regular peanut or almond butter and add in 1-2 T. sugar/honey/maple syrup. Add in nuts, if desired.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Light and Fluffy Brownies

  1. They look really good – will try these. I think I’ll have to experiment with canned black beans? I can never be bothered to wait for the others to cook and cool!

  2. I’ll have to makethis when I get home! I’ve made black bean brownies but they were EXTREMELY dense. These look better :)

  3. It blows my mind to think of black beans in brownies, but I’ve heard so many delicious things about it. I need to try these! :D

  4. Peggy says:

    I’ve been wanting to try black bean brownies for quite some time now. Definitely going to have to pick up some black beans on the way to the grocery this week! =)

  5. Katie says:

    I have tried BB brownies and they came out terrible. Maybe I just suck at them. ;)

  6. Kelly says:

    NICE!! I have heard about BB brownies but haven’t ever made them. These sound great!

  7. hihorosie says:

    I would totally try these! Fun and different – great combo! I’ll bookmark this for now so I can make soon.

  8. Wow! Those sound really yummy! I’ve been pretty skeptical (and intrigued) by beans in desserts. I’ll have to give this a go.

  9. Nikki McLain says:

    Just put them in the oven … we shall see!!

  10. Pingback: Ice Cream Bulking | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

