P90X Yoga Review

When my friend invited me to join him in P90X yoga I couldn’t pass it up. It was his rest week, and he knew I liked yoga.

[source]

I really liked the P90X version – it was 90 minutes long, with some parts that were a little intense and some that were more breathing and flowing.

It’s broken down into 3 parts:

1. Moving asanas: sun salutations, chaturangas, warrior, triangle, etc.

2. Balancing poses: tree, crane, royal dancer, etc.

3. Yoga Belly X – core work

Once you’re done it’s followed with just some breathing, savasana (corpse pose), and some “om’s”.

The moving asanas is a bit of a challenge on the arms because of the number of chaturangas you’re doing. Tony gives you the option to do a pushup between up-dog and down-dog (not true to yoga, but definitely true to P90X). ;)

The balancing poses were a time for me to relax after struggling through the end of the vinyasa sequence. Having done yoga for a couple years, I’m fairly flexible and didn’t struggle much with these poses, but if you’re new to yoga this may be less of a “break” time for you.

When you think you’re in the homestretch and almost done, Tony throws at you the Yoga Belly X sequence – a variety of moves that work your core. These are pretty tough done at around the 75 minute mark of an intense yoga sequence. Needless to say my abs were burning a LOT! The core work is about 5-10 minutes long, but once you’re done it’s cool down time (and you earned it)!

Child’s pose, Savasana (corpse pose), then some om’s.

Yoga is a great addition to any workout regimen. The more flexible you are the less likely you are to get injured. So go get on your mat and do some yoga!

This entry was posted in exercise, fun, health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to P90X Yoga Review

  1. Oh wow, I haven’t done the P90x yoga DVD in YEARS. I remember that it kicked my butt, though!!! (<– like the rest of P90X!)

  2. Katie says:

    I hated that one!! I only did it once, and then never again. I think i’m a yoga purist or not at all. :)

    The push ups? Didn’t happen.

  3. I bought P90X as a gift for the husband…who has yet to try it! I think I’ll have to try it :)

Leave a Reply

