Easy Raw Foods & Sprouting

Weekends are a time for food prep for me. With much more time to devote in the kitchen, I definitely enjoy this part of my ritual. Sometimes I’ll bake something, usually I’ll make up a batch of hummus, sometimes I’ll make a big pot of soup for the week.

This weekend was full of some raw food prep. Last weekend I got 2 heads of organic cabbage at WF’s (when I was in Tampa) for $0.50/lb. I couldn’t resist getting some to make some raw kraut with!

It’s one of the easiest things to make and just takes time to let it ferment. I have an easy tutorial here, and the pure2raw twins have a great video here where they used their food processor to shred the cabbage, which gets it more fine than just slicing it with a knife like in my tutorial – the pre-food processor days. ;)

Outer leaves removed, sliced in half, and cored.

DSC_0023

All shredded plus some salt.

DSC_0028

I also got a new sprouting jar so I now have two to make two different batches of sprouts with.

Sprouting is also a super easy task, that’s really inexpensive.

If you don’t have sprouting jars, just use a glass jar and secure some cheesecloth to the top with a rubberband to hold it in place – just something to let the water drain out.

DSC_0030_2

Soak 2 or more tablespoons of sprouting seeds, beans, lentils, buckwheat, or anything else in about an inch of water overnight.

DSC_0031

In the morning drain them and then rinse and drain them with fresh water. Do this once in the evening for twice each day until the tails have grown to desired length.

I usually let mine sprout for 4-5 days then place them in a sunny window so they turn green and become full of the healthy, green chlorophyll which contains a ton of nutrients.

DSC_0018

I’ve also got a few jars of kombucha brewing. This is one of my favorite drinks! And like raw kraut, it’s full of good probiotics.

Do you eat any fermented foods? What’s your favorite?

This entry was posted in environmentally friendly, food, gluten free, health, money saving tips, nutrition, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Easy Raw Foods & Sprouting

  1. Ma Ma Megan says:

    My grandma just bought me a sprouting jar! I’m so close to having mung beans sprouted I can’t wait to try them :D

  2. Did you “grow” your own scoby for the kombucha? I’d like to do that, but I’m nervous about ending up with something gross. I’d love to hear any tips you have!

    • Ashlei says:

      I did grow my own. I took a bottle of raw original kombucha (I think I used either 1/2 cup or 1 cup) and placed it in a glass jar and covered it with a paper towel and rubberband and left it to grow until it was about 1/4″ thick or so, then started using it to make kombucha. It grows with every batch so it will get thicker and you can peel off layers and have multiple scoby’s.

      Let me know if you have any other questions. :)

  3. Katie says:

    I want to like kombucha!

  4. I love sprouts and fermented food I need to do my own im just kinda intimidated!

  5. Kalli says:

    gosh i really have not ever fermented anything myself but i do love drinking kombucha. love tempeh too-i think that is fermented!

  6. Pingback: Artisana | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

