Boston Baked Beans

I love beans, so after seeing Sarah post a version of homemade baked beans, I knew I had to try it. I bought some blackstrap molasses last month and have been wanting to use them in something so this was calling my name.

Navy beans, molasses, onions, ketchup, mustard, all simmering together in the oven for hours, with an intoxicating smell throughout the entire process.

DSC_0014_2

The original recipe (here) calls for Worcestershire sauce, but since it’s not gluten-free I just substituted about 1/2 – 1. t. each of wheat-free tamari and apple cider vinegar, plus I omitted the brown sugar because the ketchup and molasses made them sweet enough.

DSC_0018

Serve them alongside a simple bed of greens, avocado, dulse, hempseeds and shredded turkey, drizzles with some olive oil.

DSC_0021

Perfect!

Or make the beans the star of the meal.

Have you ever made baked beans?

Yes, it takes a long time, but yes it is totally worth it. Perfect to make on a relaxing Sunday morning just in time for lunch.

P.S. There’s still time to get your entries in for the case of Chobani.

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, money saving tips, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boston Baked Beans

  1. I absolutely adore baked beans – those are going on my menu list for next week!

  2. ohhhh yes I love baked beans!! I make a “quick” version with canned beans, molasses, onions, tomato sauce, mustard, seasoning…really simple and really delicious.
    It’s about time I made some really from scratch, though – thank you for the inspiration!

  3. Katie says:

    I LOVE baked beans. I made some for a Thanksgiving potluck and I was really happy someone else made some, too. I got to take home leftovers! And they only got better.

    Annie’s makes a GF worchestershire sauce that tastes just like the original, FYI.

  4. Yum! I love baked beans but homemade has got to be way better. And I’m sure the house did smell amazing.

    Throw that turkey in there and you’ve got yourself a meal! Hmmm… too easy…. that’s dinner tomorrow.

  5. Yum, the recipe sounds wonderful. I’ve never made my own baked beans, but I should because hubby loves them.

Leave a Reply

