Chobani Review and Greek Yogurt Uses

One of my favorite foods is yogurt! I love the texture, I love the taste. I love that I can eat it for breakfast, or snacks, or throw it into a baked treat for a bit of moisture and fat.

Chobani sent me some samples of their greek yogurts to try (before realizing I’m lactose intolerant; sad!). I really liked some of them – others not so much. My roommate has become a big fan of them too, switching over to Chobani from lesser-quality, chemically-laden yogurts.

The plain 2% was definitely my favorite. The 0% just doesn’t have any richness or creaminess to it and it’s just leaves this funny taste in my mouth. The 2% is also more filling because of the added fat – meaning I won’t want to snack 10 minutes later. ;)

Of the flavored yogurts, I personally liked the honey the best because it was just sweetened with…well, honey! No added sugars.

The other fruit flavors left me wanting more fruit and less of the syrupy stuff in the bottom. I’d also prefer to not have the added sugars.

DSC_0006

I always added more fruit in when eating the flavored ones.

DSC_0001

I definitely would recommend purchasing a larger tub of the 2% plain and then adding your own mix-ins. ;)

Uses for plain greek yogurt:

  • Sour cream substitute for a burrito/taco bar, layered bean dip, or enchiladas.
  • Use in baking to add creaminess and moisture to muffins, and cakes, and breads.
  • Add it to a smoothie for some extra protein and creaminess.
  • Make a ranch dip with some garlic powder, onion powder, dried dill, parsley, and black pepper. (Or you can use a pre-made package like the Simply Organic one).
  • Make a breakfast or dessert parfait, or use in place of milk for overnight oats.
  • Add some to your dog’s food – she’ll appreciate the little something extra.
  • Stir it into some soup in place of cream, or place a dollop on top (my favorite is on top of butternut squash soup or tomato soup).
  • Place a dollop on top of some homemade baked beans.
  • Or you could just eat it on it’s own. ;)

What are your favorite uses for yogurt/greek yogurt? Do you prefer the plain or the flavored?

This entry was posted in food, gluten free, health, nutrition, product review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chobani Review and Greek Yogurt Uses

  1. Yea I like plain 2% yogurt! I wish the pineapple Chobani had more pineapple in it too. But I have yet to try the honey, it sounds good!

  2. Jim says:

    Honey is probably the only flavored variety I’ve enjoyed. I’m all about going plain and doing your own mix-ins. Are you going to do a Chobani vs. Fage face-off?

    • Ashlei says:

      I must say I prefer(ed) Fage better – much more creamy. I can’t tolerate anything with lactose anymore though. :(

      • Jim says:

        That makes me sad – you would probably be appalled at the amount of dairy I go through ;)

        I agree that Fage is better (esp. the 0%) – Chobani, as I recall, is more acidic and sort of “dry” – a quality I might appreciate in a wine, but not my yogurt.

        But alas, as a medical student I cannot afford Greek yogurt often, so I buy the store brand and if an application calls for Greek-style yogurt, I strain it!

      • Ashlei says:

        You’re a med student? Cool! I’m in pharmacy school so I kind of understand. It’s definitely less expensive to buy plain yogurt and strain it than to buy greek yogurt.

  3. i love plain because i feel it’s so much thicker and i can add in any kind of fruit i want!

    i also love using it in my baking for some extra creaminess…def helps!

  4. I love greek yogurt, and I can stomach it even though I am lactose intolerant!

  5. mm..love greek yogurt! and PLAIN!!! FOR sure…but it has to AT LEAST be 2%….i like it with fat too!! tastes WAYYY better. :) i honey and banana with it. sry to hear your lactose intolerant, but goat milk yogurt would be okay for you to eat!! and it’s AMAAZINGLY creamy and silky smooth> :)

  6. Pingback: Chobani Greek Yogurt Giveaway | The Vegster

  7. Stacey says:

    I love ALL of the flavors…but black cherry is my favorite! I have cystic fibrosis and am on long term antibiotic treatment with 4 different drugs. The probiotics in this yogurt seem to do a better job in keeping everything balanced than other yogurts. Check out my blog to learn more about me!

  8. Pingback: On-the-Go Breakfast Ideas | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

