How to Stay Healthy while on Vacation

While vacationing or traveling it’s really easy to stick to your healthy eating plan. The first thing I make sure I do is pack my own food. It’s especially important to bring plenty of snacks because who knows when hunger will hit while in the car or at the airport.

1. Bring your own food.

You know what’s in and what you like. It’s friendly not only on your waistline but on your wallet as well. If you’re worried about taking up room, small things like bars, trail mix, and single servings of nut butter packages make great options.

DSC_0015

Apples and baby carrots are another favorite because they last so long. Canned foods like sardines or tuna make for easy protein options that don’t have to be refrigerated.

DSC_0021

2. Bring food for travelling.

Easy things to pack include sandwiches, grapes, Larabars, apples, carrots and hummus, fruit leather, or nuts.

3. Stop at the grocery store when you get there.

Stock up on things you eat regularly: fruits and veggies, bread, almond butter, canned soup, yogurt, etc. If you don’t have a fridge available get single serving pouches of non-dairy milks, and produce that will stay fresh on the shelf. Apples, oranges, bananas, avocados and tomatoes are some of my favorites. Canned fruit, vegetables, or soup are good options too. Don’t forget to pack some utensils!

4. Drink lots of water!

If flying, pack a reusable water bottle that’s empty, but if you’re travelling by car, fill ‘er up!

5. Eat a healthy breakfast.

I packed some of my own tea to enjoy every morning since I won’t have my regular coffee every morning. I’ve been eating some yogurt topped with a crumbled granola bar, blueberries, and sometimes a nut butter pack.

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

Other healthy options include smoothies, fresh juice, granola with a mashed banana, trail mix, salad, hard-boiled eggs, or toast.

6. Don’t eat out every meal.

Though convenient, your wallet won’t thank you. I’ve packed and bought food and have been eating or snacking on it most of my vacation – though there’s still been plenty of eating out.

Canned sardines, canned green beans, and Pacific Foods boxed Roasted Red Pepper soup, with leftover toast from my meal at Grass Root, and the 2 carrots I hadn’t finished while preparing the rest of my lunch. ;)

DSC_0015_2

DSC_0016

7. When eating out, take home leftovers.

When I eat out, I almost always employ the 50% rule: restaurants serve such large portions either split them with someone and enjoy a salad first, or take half of it home.

8. Make your leftovers stretch.

Eat it with salad or raw veggies. I often like to place leftovers on a bed of lettuce (if you have access to a fridge).

9. Take time for yourself.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading and taking some walks while in Florida. I also packed a couple of dance DVDs to stay active amidst all the sitting I’ve been doing.

10. Live a little and indulge!

You’re on vacation after all! One piece of dessert or one rich meal isn’t going to break your healthy eating. If you indulged a little too much, just get right back on track – don’t throw your healthy eating away because of one meal.

What tips do you have for staying healthy while on vacation and while traveling?

This entry was posted in food, health, nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to Stay Healthy while on Vacation

  1. Errign says:

    I follow a lot of the same tips! I love peanut butter packets & the tuna packets you don’t have to drain! They’re awesome with a little mayo, mustard, hot sauce or greek yogurt on crackers!

    If I know I will be spending most of the day on a plane or in an airport, I like to scope out the airport’s website for food options beforehand – that way I know I can get healthy food or if I need to plan ahead and pack extra!

  2. Katie says:

    The first place I stop is the grocery store. I cook for myself as much as possible on vacation, because I am cheap, and because I love to cook. but, there is still a lot of fun in going out to eat.

  3. GREAT tips! I think eating a healthy breakfast is one of the most important ones for me when I’m on vacation. If I eat out for breakfast, I’m usually starving for the rest of the day. And then I get cranky, which makes it hard on everybody. ;)

  4. nice tips! we always take a cooler while traveling…and stop at local grocery stores!

  5. Pingback: On-the-Go Breakfast Ideas | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

