Superfood Trailmix

I love trail mix – it’s customizable and an easy grab-and-go snack for when you’re on the run. You can add it on top of oatmeal or yogurt for some extra crunch. It’s highly nutritious and really versatile.

I love superfoods – goji berries, cacao nibs, raw nuts and seeds, mulberries, blueberries, and so on.

DSC_0009

The perfect trailmix is a combination of chewy, sweet dried fruit, and crunchy nuts and seeds. Sometimes a hint of salt is nice, but usually I just prefer mine all raw and plain, letting the flavors of each of the foods speak for themselves.

Make your own superfood trailmix:

  • 3/4 cup goji berries
  • 3/4 cup mulberries
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1/2 cup cashews, raw
  • 1/2 cup pistachios, raw
  • 1/2 cup cacao nibs
  • 1/2 cup macadamia nut pieces, raw

Combine all of the following ingredients together.

DSC_0014

Feel free to substitute other ingredients such as almonds, dark or white chocolate chips, raisins, cranberries, dried blueberries, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, etc.

DSC_0015

Bag it up and enjoy! :)

What are your favorite trail mix ingredients?

This entry was posted in gluten free, health, nutrition, raw foods, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Superfood Trailmix

  1. Katie says:

    When I lived in Hawaii, we used to have trail mix contests, and people went pretty nuts. I’ve been loving pistachios lately, so I think I’d go with good old raisins and pistachios. you get the sweet, the salty, the chewy and the crunchy. Perfection.

  2. I loooove any kind of chocolate in my trail mix. It’s bad- I always eat out the chocolate chips from the whole tub and then leave the rest!!

  3. I love trail mix, too!

    Totally random side note, but I had a dream about goji berries last nigh!

  4. ZeeBee says:

    Mmm I LOVE trail mix, too! At our local Vitamin Cottage they have a similar mix pre-made.. so yummy. My Favorite combination is probably a variety of seeds, coconut flakes, dates, raisins, and almonds. I could grab handfuls for hours :)

  5. Caitlyn says:

    Trail Mixes are great! I think you’ve inspired me to make my own tomorrow! My favorite thing in a trail mix are cashews and chocolate. Yummers!

  6. Mmm…this sounds so great! I love homemade trail mixes. Way better than the store bought variety. My favorite mix-ins are dried cranberries, cashews, and pieces of dark chocolate. :D

  7. ahh iLOVe raisins and chocolate in my trailmix- dark choc covered nuts are also a fav! i just recently got some goji berries actually and i could totally make this with them!

  8. Pingback: On-the-Go Breakfast Ideas | The Vegster

  9. Pingback: Clean Eating 101 | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

